2003 CL Type S and 2003 base CL

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2019, 02:10 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 CL Type S and 2003 base CL

Hey everyone im new to this so bear with me please. I have a 2003 Acura CL type S and a 2003 Baseline Acura CL what all would I have to take from my Acura type S to put on my Baseline Acura to make it a Type-S? I'm really looking for all the performance and handling upgrades I can do to my baseline from the Type-S. They're both 5-speed automatic cars. What should I pull off the Type-S to put on the Baseline? Any and all input is greatly appreciated.
Old 09-29-2019, 04:38 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,845 Likes on 1,487 Posts
Originally Posted by Glen Adams
What should I pull off the Type-S to put on the Baseline?
J32A2 engine and the transmission in one big 'lump', if it (the transmission) is in better shape.

Type-S ECU and most likely the under dash harness(es), I'm not sure about the fuse boxes. The driver side under dash IMRC module unit as well. I only say that in order to help facilitate an easy 'plug & play' transition with the electrics.

If you take the dash harness and fuse boxes, and if the dash needs to be removed to set up the harness, you may want to take the Type-S gauge cluster.

As you go along with the swap, you may find some other things; however, those are the 'main bits' to transform the CL-P into a Type-S. It would be extremely prudent to invest in a service manual. If they still work, there are free PDF downloads here on the forum, you just have to search; otherwise, one can be purchased on the link below for $20+.

Acura CL 3.2 2001, 2002, 2003 Service Manual | AutoManualSource

Good Luck!

Last edited by zeta; 09-29-2019 at 04:42 PM.
Old 09-29-2019, 10:11 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 cl help