Alignment off. Do I need adjustment bar or am I covered under Acura service bulletin

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2011, 12:21 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alignment off. Do I need adjustment bar or am I covered under Acura service bulletin

Hi,

I recently posted a question about whether it was ok to change just two tires (it was). I went in this morning to get the new front tires and instaleld and while I was there I asked for an alignment check. There's nothing in my driving that indicated I may need alignment but then again, I am no car expert.

They said that my alignment was off, especially in the rear (camber) and that I needed some sort of bar to fix it, otherwise I would have uneven wear on my tires. I took pictures of my front tires (which were the ones needing replacement) and my friend (who I trust) said that my wear was very even. He joked that I must drive like a grandma I know that's not related to the rear, which is what this thread is about.

Here are the numbers:

(All in degrees, Acura TSX 2004-08)

Front Left (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Camber: (0.3 / 0.3 / -.8 to .8)
Caster: (2.4 / 2.4 / 2.5 to 4.0)
Toe: (-0.83 / -0.83 / -.08 to .08)

Front Right (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Camber: (0.0 / 0.0 / -.8 to .8)
Caster: (3.2 / 3.2 / 2.5 to 4.0)
Toe: (0.60 / 0.59 / -.08 to .08)

Front (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Cross Camber: (0.4 / 0.4 / -.8 to .8)
Cross Caster: (-0.7 / -0.7 / -.8 to .8)
Total Toe: (-0.23 / -0.24 / -.16 to .16)

-----------------------------------------

Rear Left (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Camber: (-2.2 / -2.2 / -1.5 to -.5)
Toe: (0.05 / 0.05 / 0 to .16)

Rear Right (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Camber: (-2.5 / -2.5 / -1.5 to -.5)
Toe: (-0.11 / -0.11 / 0 to .16)

Rear (Actual/Before/Specified Range):
Cross Camber: (0.3 / 0.3 / -.8 to .8)
Total Toe: (-0.05 / -0.06 / 0 to .31)
Thrust Angle: (0.08 / 0.08 / -- )