Engine Ticking Noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2010, 10:30 AM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Ticking Noise

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to AZine, but I'm pretty active on . Anywho, I was wondering if anyone has had issues similar to this.

My '04 has started to develop a ticking noise that has gotten progressively worse over the past couple days. It sounds like a combination of injector clicking and something else that is a much deeper sound. It doesn't seem to get better after the car warms up either, but I could be wrong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAVUggtNOjs

Here's a video I took of the problem. It was taken after the car was up to driving temperature.

I was just wondering if anyone else on here has experienced similar problems and if so, what you have done to resolve it.

-Tony
Old 04-02-2010, 11:02 AM
Drifting

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Yea, that does not sound right. Sounds like a "poker card stuck in bike spokes" kind of noise. How many miles do you have? How's the condition of the drive belt?
Old 04-02-2010, 12:55 PM
8th Gear

Originally Posted by PACman
Yea, that does not sound right. Sounds like a "poker card stuck in bike spokes" kind of noise. How many miles do you have? How's the condition of the drive belt?
The car's got 72k on it. I'm the third owner, so I can't say how the car has been maintained prior to me owning it.

All the belts look good. The weird thing is the performance of the car hasn't been affected at all by this. It still pulls nice and hard, no CEL, no shaking, nothing else out of the ordinary at all, actually...

I had previously taken it to a shop to get it diagnosed and they seem to think there is a chipped tooth on the transmission (it's an AT). I would think that if that were the case I'd notice something other than just a noise...
Old 04-02-2010, 01:10 PM
Someone stole "My Garage"

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts