1st -> clutch in -> 2nd -> *CRUNCH* -> clutch out -> WTF???

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2007, 07:12 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
1st -> clutch in -> 2nd -> *CRUNCH* -> clutch out -> WTF???

Starting from a standstill, I accelerate semi-hard revving it up to probably 5k, then I see that I have to avoid an oncoming car at the intersection, so I do a REALLY quick shift and slam it to 2nd, and right as I'm entering the gate (BEFORE I let the clutch out), I hear a CRUNCH noise and feel some resistance/vibration through the shifter.

I'm thinking there's no way it can be grinding a gear since I didn't even clutch out yet.
I've been driving stick for 5 years and have never grinded, so I don't even know how griding is supposed to sound.
Actually, to give a good description/feel of it, I would say it felt like shifting into Reverse while the car is still rolling forward a bit.
So is that the synchros?

The good news is the tranny felt fine afterwards.

2006, 6MT, 17k miles if it makes a difference.
Old 10-22-2007, 07:19 PM
Someone stole "My Garage"

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Pretty much everyone I know with a 6MT TSX experiences the "crunchy" 1-2 shift. You only really get it when shifting quickly, and my guess is yes, the synchros have to do a lot of work between 1-2 because the gear ratios are very far apart on those two gears.

If you do a slight pause in between 1 and 2, you'll avoid the crunch altogether.

Oh, and with a short shifter (like me), you get the crunch more often unless you really try to space the 1-2 shift out mentally.
Old 10-22-2007, 07:25 PM
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
yeah i get that crunch/grind whenever i shift to quickly into second.
Old 10-22-2007, 07:29 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't get the crunch at all and I have the 04 6MT. Just takes some getting used to and as curls said, a millisecond more of a pause between gears. I also noticed more smooth engagement with new tranny fluid.