DIY Front Brake Pad Install - 56k **

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2005, 10:16 PM
ABP TSX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY Front Brake Pad Install - 56k **

First of all, I am not a mechanic nor SAE certified. I am far from an expert. I graduated from the Shade Tree Mechanics University and am a card carrying member of the Back Yard Association. Therefore, if you decide to do your brakes, please be very aware of the risks. Your brakes DO stop your car. I take ZERO responsibility for anything that may or might happen from you tackling this DIY. This is not an end all for the install but does give you the basic steps.

Steps
Take off the wheels and secure the car up on Jack Stands. Do not even consider doing this on the jack alone for support.

You will now see the brake assembly.

Remove 2 Bolts Holding on the Caliper. The pictures show the top. The other is easily visible on the bottom of the caliper.

The Caliper will now come off the bracket easily. You will be able to see the brake pads now. Be sure and secure the Caliper and DO NOT let it dangle. Remove the inside and outside pads. You pretty much just pop them off the assembly. Picture is blurry but this process is very easy.

Take a pick or flat head screwdriver and pull down the boot to remove the caliper pins. Degrease the caliper pins and then lubricate them with Silicon Brake Caliper Grease. Then reinstall the pins. The boot should just pop back onto the pin when you insert them back into the boot.

Get our new brake pads out. I used Hawk HPS Pads. Remove the shims from the old brake pads, put some anti seize on them, and snap them on the new pads. Then reinstall the new pads on the caliper bracket.

Using a Brake Piston Tool push the piston back into the caliper. This is extremely easy using the tool and takes no force. I bought mine at Sears for $19.99. They had a cheaper one for $9.99 but it was out of stock.

Put the Caliper back in place and reinstall the bolts