Peak HP & Peak Torque ???

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2007, 06:41 AM
Cyclist, Too!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Peak HP & Peak Torque ???

I'm still learning the ropes with my still-new (one month old) 2007 TSX (NBP, 6MT), and questions about peak HP and peak torque come to mind.

In fact, I readily see and use peak torque, which happens at 4500 RPM. When accelerating for a lane change, say, or passing another car, I kick it up -- staying in 3rd gear, say -- and go past that RPM mark.

I love the way the car feels, pulling quickly at that point, with a great sense of control.

However, I have not hit peak HP yet, which at 7000 RPM is only 100 revs below the red line.

So, when might you use, get to, peak HP?

Isn't it odd to have peak HP so close to the red line?

In fact, for you, and you, and you: In what situations do you access the engine's peak HP? And why?

Dave, who drove an auto version of the TSX for a couple of days which made him very very happy to have bought one with a manual tranny
Old 07-21-2007, 08:16 AM
Cruisin'

It is a design decision that is, at a minimum, very interesting.

On the negative side- I see it as a way of posting 200HP for the car mags and web sites when the 200HP isn't that usable in a daily manner.

On the plus side- when you want to use it and are WOT the car continues to accelerate all the way to VTEC and then you get a little extra. This is great if you are passing, merging, or trying to put distance between yourself and the cars behind.

I'm also new to my car and I'm still making friends with its driving characteristics after 2200 miles.
Old 07-21-2007, 09:03 AM
Drives With Hands

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First, horsepower is a mathematical expression of total engine power, and expresses both the torque exerted by the output shaft, as well as how fast the shaft is able to rotate while exerting it. More here. Reading that page will clear up some things for you.