One Man’s Story

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2003, 04:11 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
One Man’s Story

Good afternoon everyone,

As a newbie, I’m sure a brief first-time post would be appropriate. But since I’ve been religiously following the Acura TSX since mid-March (yes, I too started over on the “other side”), I don’t really feel like a newbie. I don’t know why, but for some reason I decided that until I actually became a TSX owner, I would remain in “read only” mode and not do any posting of my own. I’m pleased to say that as of this week I am an owner (see my signature) and with your indulgence in my slightly long post, I would like to share my story with you.

It begins with my age – 61 (and a half!). I’ve been driving manual transmission cars for the past 30 years and I have to smile when I see posts from people who say they’ll never give up their manuals. That was me until about a year ago when left knee problems began and finally got the best of me. On occasion I would find myself using my left hand to assist my left knee in working the clutch in stop and go traffic – and I knew it was time. Reluctantly, I made the decision that an automatic is what I needed. I also knew this was going to be a special time for me because whatever car I chose, it would be the one to take me well in to my retirement years. In 2007 I’ll be relocating to a home I own in the Dayton, Ohio area so I can be closer to my extended family in the Midwest and east.

Since 1973, I’ve enjoyed driving these vehicles all of which were 4 cylinder cars except for the 6s in the Mitsubishi and the Ford:

· 2001 - Mitsubishi Eclipse GT
· 1996 - Ford Contour SE
· 1994 - Acura Integra GS-R (Stolen in LA on Christmas Eve, 1995!)
· 1989 - Honda CRXsi
· 1985 - VW Golf GTI
· 1983 - VW Rabbit GTI (The original “hot hatch” – all 90 bhp of it!)
· 1978 - VW Sirocco
· 1974 - VW Dasher (I think this may have pre-dated the Rabbit just slightly in the USA?)