Need advice from MA 05 TSX buyers who dealt with the $200 advertising fee

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 06:03 PM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice from MA 05 TSX buyers who dealt with the $200 advertising fee

Hi,

Been quietly reading the posts for more than a year and am grateful for all the useful info. Got THE call from my dealer today that my '05 CG/Ebony/6MT/Navi car is in, but the salesperson insists that MA law requires that the invoice include the $200 advertising fee. I'm less than thrilled. Anyone know about how dealers in MA handle the advertising fee? I need to call the dealer tonight to finalize the arrangements, so I'd really appreciate any advice ASAP. Thanks.
Old 12-06-2004, 06:28 PM
Racer

Originally Posted by 92Integra04or05TSX
..the salesperson insists that MA law requires that the invoice include the $200 advertising fee...
I am not a lawyer, and I do not live in MA, but I have never heard of any law, in any state, that REQUIRED the customer to pay an advertising fee. If that is true, then, IMO, the state has truly stepped crossed the line. Advertising fees are simply a cost of doing business and is no business of the state, county, city, PJ, or any other government entity. It sounds to me like the dealer is just wanting to add profit buy calling it something else.

Option 1:
Ask the salesperson to quote you the code (the state stature, aka black letter law). Then, with or without the code, go online and see if you can find the state statues online. They will most likely be under a .gov domain. Do a search on "advertising" and "advertising fee". If you cannot find the code, then dispute the salesman claim and say that you will not pay the fee unless he can prove to you that it applies.

Option 2:
Tell the salesperson that you have a policy of not paying advertising fees. But, you will make an exception in this case if the dealer will reduce the selling price by an equal amount.