Manual, stick, shifting--whatever.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2003, 07:42 PM
04 remembrance

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Manual, stick, shifting--whatever.

I admit, I'm a newbie when it comes to driving stick.
I've been driving stick for around a week now. Not even.

I know the basic steps and concepts, yet I still haven't grasped the full essence and comprehension of driving stick...

..which leads me to this question:

What are some things I should always keep in mind when driving stick, and how would you explain the function of it? Also, how would you explain how to drive a stick for newbies like me? Or to those that have just started to drive stick?

Answers such as "Don't worry, you'll learn within days", or "Practice makes perfect", are irrelevant.
Old 10-08-2003, 07:46 PM
TSXASORISREX

but its true i didnt know how to drive stick then a guy from the dealer was liek here ill take u out after 5 mins of him driving i told him to get out and hey guess what first week was ruff but u will get it it just takes time and practice, and if you are having problems stalling out just rev it up a lil more and slowly relese the clutch untill you fell more comfortable
Old 10-08-2003, 08:04 PM
Photography Nerd

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
An empty parking lot is your best friend. Come to a complete stop and try to get the car rolling using only the clutch. Don't touch the gas. This will teach you where the engagement point is on the clutch.

Once you've mastered this, try giving a little gas as the clutch starts to grab. You won't need much and once the clutch is fully engaged you can lean into that throttle and see what makes the TSX so great!
Old 10-08-2003, 08:16 PM
Integral & Acurate TSXer

Remember that shifting should be slow and fluid. Don't try to shift too quickly- its all about linking one action smoothly to another.