Stock upgrades - what should be priority?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2007, 04:37 PM
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stock upgrades - what should be priority?

FYI, brand spankin' new to these forums and the TL. Hello!

I just purchased a 98 3.2 TL (white, 138k miles) and don't know much of anything about the car (bought it 'cause I talked the dealer into a great price on quick turnaround, it had JUST been traded in). I'm curious to hear this community's input on what performance modifications should be performed first, are most cost effective, general input/advice, etc. I know more than the average human being about cars, but compared to the average enthusiast forum goer, I'm a complete newb.

Thoughts? If there's a thread for this elsewhere I didn't see, I apologize. Thanks in advance!
Old 06-02-2007, 09:34 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Just read down the list of 2nd generation postings- learn more than you want to know about brakes and oil filters and tire choices and mods from $50 K&N air filter to $100 intake spacers and then the big money starts- crank pulley, exhaust, cold air intake setup,
Better brakes were first on my list!
Old 06-04-2007, 02:39 AM
大日本帝国

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts
^ 01tl4tl, he's got a 1st gen... BTW, I hardly think the things listed are big money items, but to each his own.

@Demon, alrighty, welcome to the boards. There are a few things you can do to start modding, but I warn you: it's a disease. Start and I'm fairly certain that you'll have trouble stopping.

An intake is usually the first thing people do, and can be had for fairly cheap. I (along with quite a few members) have a Weapon-R Secret Weapon short-ram intake. I modded to cold-air using a spare Civic intake I had lying around, and I started a thread on that matter with photos somewhere in the Performance Parts & Modifications sub-forum.