Has anyone installed their own shocks / struts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2005, 06:16 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Has anyone installed their own shocks / struts?

I just got some new oem struts and am considering installing them myself (all four). Although I've never done this before, it doesn't look too hard. Anybody ever done this before? Is it that difficult? Anything special I need other than a spring compressor?

Thanks
Old 03-27-2005, 09:02 AM
Advanced

Oh, by the way, I have a 97 3.2

Travis
Old 03-27-2005, 10:41 AM
LDH
I

Well I haven't done it on the tl yet but I've changed it on a few other cars. The basics are Jack, Jackstands, Spring Compressor, 12,14,17mm sockets/wrenches. Air tools will make it go by even faster also a good friend is a must and some beers will make it go by easier. If you have a garage to work in that's even better. Allen wrench is a must too, because when you try to remove the top hat the sturt shaft will spin unless you hold it in place with an allen wrench.
Old 03-27-2005, 11:56 AM
Hurricane Game

heh, i've changed the strut on my beretta before, and had to have somechange change out the strut from the spring, due to lack of tools. so if you don't have everything, don't try it. i found that out as well with these rotors on my car. heh, if you saw that post....it was hell. eventually i just paid someone to do it. that way, if it gets messed up...their fault. plus they found a bad wheel bearing...something i wouldn't have known was bad. cost more, but i guess it was worth it.
Old 03-27-2005, 09:49 PM
Registered Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by twhitted
Oh, by the way, I have a 97 3.2

Travis
Holy shit. I am Travis too. We are few and far between.

So the strut change should be easy, assuming we have the tools (relatively basic other than a spring compressor) and some help?
Old 03-27-2005, 10:01 PM
Pro