Electrical problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2013, 02:36 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Electrical problems

I've had this 2002 RL for about a year. The check engine light came on and a scan said one of the O2 sensor heaters had died. $100 for the sensor & 3 hours later I get it in and head for inspection. (note!) I heard the lady honk the horn on the way in and she comes back and says everything's good, but no brake lights.

I took it to a friend mechanic and he spent 2 hours finding a bad connection under the left kick panel. Problem is now nothing electrical works on the steering wheel now. No horn, turn signals, cruise, headlights, audio controls and whatever else. The four way flashers work and the panic button on the key fob work, so the flashers work to an extent, as does the horn.

I'm an electrical engineer with some wiring skills, but my problem is I can't find any wiring diagrams, schematics, etc.

Any help for the newb? I've worked on quite a few cars over the years, but this is my first Japanese OBDII one. HAAALLLPPP!
Old 02-25-2013, 12:57 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Wait so your horn, headlights, brake lights, audio control, and turn signals arent working? Is your HU and dome light still working? You might want to check the fuse box in the engine compartment.
Old 02-25-2013, 01:07 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,329 Likes on 1,309 Posts
Sounds like a few blown fuses, maybe even a relay thats gone bad. Ouch.
Old 02-25-2013, 11:03 AM
8th Gear

Let's see... I'm an electrical engineer, and I had my mechanic work on the brake lights for a couple of hours.

Did we check the fuses? YES.

We know the horn works (panic button) and flashers, and brake lights. At this point, I'm suspecting a bad ground since everything related to the steering column is out.

So, again - is there a wiring diagram available?