Car Battery Output Is Low, New Battery New Alternator

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2019, 04:58 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car Battery Output Is Low, New Battery New Alternator

Hello! I'm a student on my first year of college, and I have an 2009 RDX with 147k miles. I'm not a mechanical expert, but my dad worked on cars for a while so I take his advise when it comes to stuff like this. I've been experiencing electrical/starter problems for the past week or so, let me explain:

A few weeks ago, I tried starting the car, but when I turned the ignition, my dash and speed dials flickered and gave out, and the car wouldn't start. I figured it was because I left a light on or something and my battery died, so I charged it, and the next time I tried starting my car, it worked. I called my dad and told him about it, and and he told me to do a simple multi-meter test to see the battery's output, to see if it will happen again. I did and it was around 11.3v with the engine off, and 12.7v with the engine running. He said this was a problem, and after a quick google search (LMGTFY) I confirmed it was an issue. The battery is less than a year old (installed on July 2018) so we made the call to get a new alternator from DB Electrical (Manufacturer Part Number: AND0485), and while we were at it, we decided to get a new Dayco drive belt, since we would be needing to take the old drive belt off anyways.