2004 Acura RL Navigation System "Disc Read Error" - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine RLX Community > First Generation RL (1996-2004)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2012, 10:36 PM   #1
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
2004 Acura RL Navigation System "Disc Read Error"

Hi,

I have a 2004 Acura RL and the navigation system is not working correctly. Once my car has been turned off for a while (8 hours) and I turn it on, the Navigation screen displays the error "Disc Read Error. Please Consult Your Dealer". After I drive it for 5 minutes, the system reboots itself and starts working perfectly. Also, if it has been only a little while (less than one hour about) since the last time the car has been turned on, the navigation system works perfectly when I turn on the car.

I have already checked the CD, and it does not have any scratches.

Can anyone help me out with this issue? What can I do to fix the error? What are my options.

Thanks a ton,
Ahmad
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:51 PM   #2
ParaSurfer1979
2008 Acura 3.2TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
ParaSurfer1979's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Age: 34
Posts: 3,132
Thanks: 83
Thanked 110 Times in 88 Posts
Desmond.MacRae parasurfer1979
Points: 8,597, Level: 62
Points: 8,597, Level: 62 Points: 8,597, Level: 62 Points: 8,597, Level: 62
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Just out of a whim, clean the disc and see what happens.
__________________
Desmond,
Currently- '13 Taffeta White Honda FIT Sport w/ Navigation
Previous- '08 Alabaster Silver Acura TL/Technology Pkg Equipped w/ Menox Hand Controls (I'm a paraplegic)
ParaSurfer1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:52 PM   #3
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
I did. But it did not fix the issue.
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:02 PM   #4
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,078
Thanks: 1,159
Thanked 1,350 Times in 827 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Activity: 46.9%
Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9%
Check all connections on the back of the unit. Unplug, replug if you can.
__________________
Current rides:
2013 Honda Accord EX-L
2013 Acura MDX Tech
2006 Honda S2000

Past rides in no particular order:
2012 Honda CR-Z EX 6MT
2011 Acura TSX wagon (Tech)
2002 Acura 3.5 RL (navi)
1997 Acura 3.2 TL (premium)
1991 Honda Prelude Si
2005 Acura TL
2003 Acura TL
1988 Honda Accord LX
1996 Honda Civic
Ken1997TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:24 PM   #5
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
Having checked connection yet. But I was wondering, what is the point of checking the connections? It is obviously connected firmly and correctly if the navi works after the car runs for five minutes. (I do not mean this message in a mean or angry way, just looking for logic here).
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:26 PM   #6
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,078
Thanks: 1,159
Thanked 1,350 Times in 827 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Activity: 46.9%
Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahameed31 View Post
Having checked connection yet. But I was wondering, what is the point of checking the connections? It is obviously connected firmly and correctly if the navi works after the car runs for five minutes. (I do not mean this message in a mean or angry way, just looking for logic here).
Expansion/contraction due to temperature differences? You'd be surprised how fickle some things are. I had something similar happen to mine.
__________________
Current rides:
2013 Honda Accord EX-L
2013 Acura MDX Tech
2006 Honda S2000

Past rides in no particular order:
2012 Honda CR-Z EX 6MT
2011 Acura TSX wagon (Tech)
2002 Acura 3.5 RL (navi)
1997 Acura 3.2 TL (premium)
1991 Honda Prelude Si
2005 Acura TL
2003 Acura TL
1988 Honda Accord LX
1996 Honda Civic
Ken1997TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:38 PM   #7
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
Oh. What happened to yours, and how did you fix it?
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 11:39 PM   #8
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,078
Thanks: 1,159
Thanked 1,350 Times in 827 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100 Points: 45,357, Level: 100
Activity: 46.9%
Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9%
I had an '02 RL with navigation. It said the same thing, worked after a few minutes of driving. Loose connector in the trunk.
__________________
Current rides:
2013 Honda Accord EX-L
2013 Acura MDX Tech
2006 Honda S2000

Past rides in no particular order:
2012 Honda CR-Z EX 6MT
2011 Acura TSX wagon (Tech)
2002 Acura 3.5 RL (navi)
1997 Acura 3.2 TL (premium)
1991 Honda Prelude Si
2005 Acura TL
2003 Acura TL
1988 Honda Accord LX
1996 Honda Civic
Ken1997TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 12:12 PM   #9
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
Hey,

I disconnected all the wires from the navi unit in the trunk and reconnected them. Still getting the same error. Would you suggest something else?

-Ahmad
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 2:32 PM   #10
phins2rt
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
phins2rt's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 333
Thanks: 6
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Points: 8,635, Level: 62
Points: 8,635, Level: 62 Points: 8,635, Level: 62 Points: 8,635, Level: 62
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
Could it be a battery issue? Maybe the battery doesn't have enough charge until you run the car for 5 minutes? Seems strange that it does work but only after the car has been driven a while.
__________________
99 RL Naples Gold Metallic/Parchment
08 MDX Sport/Ent -- Sterling Gray/Ebony
03 MDX Touring/RES -- Taffetta White/Saddle

02 S2000
12 Toyota Avalon
phins2rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:38 AM   #11
ahameed31
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 38, Level: 1
Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1 Points: 38, Level: 1
Activity: 1.3%
Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3% Activity: 1.3%
Aahhh good point. I will look into this and get back to you.
ahameed31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 7:29 PM   #12
kkmitchell5
Registered Member
2004 Acura RL
 
kkmitchell5's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kkmitchell5
Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
I have an '04 as well. Mine have a green bar across the screen that just says "please check disc". of course i have check the disc, cleaned disc, unplugged and replugged connections in back of unit, and have even blown out the cd area with a air compressor to see if it was just dust in there. but no luck, any one have any bright ideas?
thanks
kkmitchell5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:48 AM   #13
VCANTU
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Age: 52
Posts: 20
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 5,502, Level: 47
Points: 5,502, Level: 47 Points: 5,502, Level: 47 Points: 5,502, Level: 47
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
I have a 2000 RL and I get the same error but not always. I'm also getting the cassette player flip flopping and it eventually spits it out (I use a cassette adapter to listen to my IPOD). But it does not do it all the time. Also the memory button on the radio have a little green light on each light, that little light does not turn on sometimes. If you are listening to a radio station preset, that button will have the green light on after you turn on the car for example.
What I noticed is that if when the little light on the radio buttons is not on, the cassette will flip flop and gets spit out eventually. If the little memory button light is on, it plays fine.
I am thinking that these occurrences of the DVD error is because there is a connection problem somewhere in the ignition switch or in the same circuit. The radio and the cassette issues are also related to maybe the ignition switch doing something wron. I would like to find a wiring diagram of those connections.
Not sure is this is your problem but keep on eye for things like too.
VCANTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 8:59 PM   #14
kkmitchell5
Registered Member
2004 Acura RL
 
kkmitchell5's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kkmitchell5
Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
To vcantu: I do not have the tape player problem (play my phone through the tape player) or the light problem. Just talked to a freinds dad that is a service manager at Courtesy Acura here in CO and he said it just simply the reader. Just like your dvd player at home they can be quite sensitive and going from hot to freezing here so much it doesnt like it but more then likley Ill have to find a replacement or send it out. To send it back to Alpine is over $800 (brutal). So I might be stuck for a while...
kkmitchell5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 8:56 PM   #15
cml1005
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 911, Level: 16
Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
just got mine back from alpine had the same problems was only 358 to have them fix it. works like new now.
cml1005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 1:14 AM   #16
kkmitchell5
Registered Member
2004 Acura RL
 
kkmitchell5's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kkmitchell5
Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
im sending mine into a place in san jose called short circuit. well see what they come back with...
kkmitchell5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:42 PM   #17
kkmitchell5
Registered Member
2004 Acura RL
 
kkmitchell5's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kkmitchell5
Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
what was wrong with yours? they quoted me 580 for the dvd mechanism and the circuit board....
kkmitchell5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 1:28 AM   #18
Pro-Pilot
Cash Registered Member
2002 Acura RL
 
Pro-Pilot's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Age: 25
Posts: 336
Thanks: 5
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
DUCKS II
Points: 1,187, Level: 18
Points: 1,187, Level: 18 Points: 1,187, Level: 18 Points: 1,187, Level: 18
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
The flippity-floppity tape thing annoys the hell out of me. However, i have had 1 instance where the memory lights didn't show and i lost connection with the steering wheel controls. It only happened once but it was very strange indeed. I have a direct connect now for my ipod. My navigation has never really given me any problems though....
Pro-Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:54 PM   #19
cml1005
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 911, Level: 16
Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
My DVD drive was messed up. I would recommend alpine. Btw kkmitchell. I love the ride its beautiful.
cml1005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 10:56 PM   #20
cml1005
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 911, Level: 16
Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16 Points: 911, Level: 16
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
If u look at alpines website it's flat rate. 358 no matter what's wrong with it.
cml1005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 9:45 AM   #21
kkmitchell5
Registered Member
2004 Acura RL
 
kkmitchell5's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kkmitchell5
Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19 Points: 1,275, Level: 19
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
cml1005: thank you! and dnag i wish i knew that.... i already got mine back from short circuit. paid more but works great again and has a 1 yr warrenty so at least now i know...
kkmitchell5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 9:45 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2004, 2005, 2006, acura, check, code, disc, dvd, error, message, navi, navigation, problem, read, rl, system, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup