Door locking not working with remote - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2012, 6:50 PM   #1
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Door locking not working with remote

Hey guys, I have 2005 TSX and had relatively low problems. The passenger side door lock hasnt been working with power locks but the rest of the door do.

A couple of days ago, the power locks for the rest of the doors still work but not with remote. I replaced battery, and tried another remote that is brand new and I never touched and it still doesnt work. Any ideas whats going on with it?
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 7:44 PM   #2
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Are you saying the passenger lock doesn't operate as it should?
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 9:39 AM   #3
miskywhisky
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,379, Level: 20
Points: 1,379, Level: 20 Points: 1,379, Level: 20 Points: 1,379, Level: 20
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Actuator for the lock has likely failed, fairly common problem on hondas. Had to do it for my sisters TL too. ~$25 part and fairly easy replacement if your comfortable taking the door panel off.

http://www.acurapartswarehouse.com/P...gPicture=False

lower right corner the one that says 3/19 on it (different part for each door)

Last edited by miskywhisky; 08-23-2012 at 9:42 AM.
miskywhisky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:35 AM   #4
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Well the actuator on the passenger door is bad cuz it doesnt unlock/lock with power locks.

But the rest of the car works with power locks from inside the car, but not with the remote. Any ideas what the problem is there?
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 2:06 PM   #5
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname367 View Post
Well the actuator on the passenger door is bad cuz it doesnt unlock/lock with power locks.

But the rest of the car works with power locks from inside the car, but not with the remote. Any ideas what the problem is there?
Ok, likely lock actuator as mentioned above. Common problem and there's a DIY. Use the SEARCH function to find it. Took me about 2-3 hrs taking my time do replace mine.
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 1:07 PM   #6
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
So you think its the actuator for all the doors? The reason I ask because power locks works but its just the remote that doesnt. Which makes me think it has to be something other than the actuator
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 6:25 PM   #7
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname367 View Post
So you think its the actuator for all the doors? The reason I ask because power locks works but its just the remote that doesnt. Which makes me think it has to be something other than the actuator
Not all the doors, just the passenger. Didn't you just say that in your post, "Well the actuator on the passenger door is bad cuz it doesnt unlock/lock with power locks."

Let's get this understood, and tell us if this is correct:
1 - All your doors lock & unlock when the master lock / unlock button on the driver's door or front passenger's door is used.
2 - When using the key fob remote, the passenger (which one) doesn't lock / unlock.
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 7:52 AM   #8
RedHeadTlGrrl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,048, Level: 40
Points: 4,048, Level: 40 Points: 4,048, Level: 40 Points: 4,048, Level: 40
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
I have to agree with the previous posters: sounds like you've got ONE bad actuator that you already know of. As a security measure, the key fob remote will not lock ANY of the doors if a SINGLE door has a problem. (Otherwise, your car wouldn't actually be secure when you think you're locking the doors!) One bad actuator will make the whole thing not work. Replace the one bad actuator, and things should work as expected. I just had the same problem on my '06 TL. I noticed that my remote(s) would both unlock the doors, and pop the trunk, but not lock the car, let alone set the alarm. Good luck!
RedHeadTlGrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
My description could have been confusing. Let me rephrase it.

1. The front passenger door doesnt lock/unlock with power locks or the remote (been like that for 1.5 years)
2. Now just a couple of days ago, the rest of the doors dont lock/unlock with the remote. However, they do lock/unlock from the master buttons on the front doors.

Not sure, but dont think what RedHeadTlGrrl said applies to my car as its been like that for 1.5 years with the remote working.
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 4:09 PM   #10
GWEEDOspeedo
El Cunado
2005 Acura TSX
 
GWEEDOspeedo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 284
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
It's definitely the actuator (which is in the door itself). I just replaced the one in my driver door. It's really not a difficult replacement to DIY; it can just take an hour or two. This video really helped for doing the driver door. I think the only difference is that there's no rod for the key-hole (as there's no key slot on passenger doors).

__________________
White '05 TSX Nav. 6MT C.P.O. | Injen CAI | UR Crank Pulley | Progress RSB w/Moog End-Links | 22% Tint | Continental DWS's | De-Badged | Dice iPod Kit | Orioles/Ravens Plate Holders ;)
GWEEDOspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 3:55 PM   #11
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
well its the actuator for the one door but how about the rest of the doors? cuz the rest of them work with the power locks but not the remote??
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 4:00 PM   #12
GWEEDOspeedo
El Cunado
2005 Acura TSX
 
GWEEDOspeedo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 284
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname367 View Post
well its the actuator for the one door but how about the rest of the doors? cuz the rest of them work with the power locks but not the remote??
That means their actuators are just fine. Each door has their own and they're wired independently, therefore; all other doors will operate normally even if one is bad. But, the car won't lock entirely and give you the *beep* when hitting the lock button twice.
__________________
White '05 TSX Nav. 6MT C.P.O. | Injen CAI | UR Crank Pulley | Progress RSB w/Moog End-Links | 22% Tint | Continental DWS's | De-Badged | Dice iPod Kit | Orioles/Ravens Plate Holders ;)
GWEEDOspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 9:31 AM   #13
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Makes sense.

So what do you think is wrong with the rest of the doors that doesnt allow me to lock/unlock with the remote? FYI: altho the one door has a bad actuator, the rest of the doors were able to lock/unlock with the remote previously.
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 12:49 PM   #14
GWEEDOspeedo
El Cunado
2005 Acura TSX
 
GWEEDOspeedo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 284
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname367 View Post
Makes sense.

So what do you think is wrong with the rest of the doors that doesnt allow me to lock/unlock with the remote? FYI: altho the one door has a bad actuator, the rest of the doors were able to lock/unlock with the remote previously.
I guess I didn't understand the entire situation at first. I'm not sure why the others wouldn't operate off the key-fob. I'd probably replace the faulty actuator and re-assess the situation.
__________________
White '05 TSX Nav. 6MT C.P.O. | Injen CAI | UR Crank Pulley | Progress RSB w/Moog End-Links | 22% Tint | Continental DWS's | De-Badged | Dice iPod Kit | Orioles/Ravens Plate Holders ;)
GWEEDOspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 2:15 PM   #15
myname367
PennState
Garage is empty, add now
 
myname367's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: York, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27 Points: 2,081, Level: 27
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
I will probably end up doing that and see what happens.

Anyone else have other recommendations?
myname367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 7:59 PM   #16
raynord
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PA
Age: 53
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,757, Level: 49
Points: 5,757, Level: 49 Points: 5,757, Level: 49 Points: 5,757, Level: 49
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
I have the same problem that started 2-3 weeks ago. When locking/unlocking with the remote, the driver side is struggling to move which is preventing the other doors from unlocking. The other doors will lock though.
If I put the key into the lock, I can unlock driver's door followed by the rest with the second twist.
The inside lock/unlock switch works normal.
I had a feeling that it was just the drivers door actuator.
raynord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 9:42 PM   #17
GWEEDOspeedo
El Cunado
2005 Acura TSX
 
GWEEDOspeedo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 284
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34 Points: 3,175, Level: 34
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynord View Post
I have the same problem that started 2-3 weeks ago. When locking/unlocking with the remote, the driver side is struggling to move which is preventing the other doors from unlocking. The other doors will lock though.
If I put the key into the lock, I can unlock driver's door followed by the rest with the second twist.
The inside lock/unlock switch works normal.
I had a feeling that it was just the drivers door actuator.
This is definitely the driver door actuator.
__________________
White '05 TSX Nav. 6MT C.P.O. | Injen CAI | UR Crank Pulley | Progress RSB w/Moog End-Links | 22% Tint | Continental DWS's | De-Badged | Dice iPod Kit | Orioles/Ravens Plate Holders ;)
GWEEDOspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 9:42 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2010, accuator, acura, door, doors, lock, locking, locks, mdx, remote, rl, separate, tsx, unlock, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup