Malfunction indicator lamp! - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2011, 8:12 PM   #1
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
Malfunction indicator lamp!

My MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP, has been coming on as of lately. I have already put in chevron techron concentrate plus, with 91 chevron gas(only gas I use). I have also made sure the gas cap is closed correctly. It has been doing it for at least a 2 weeks now. It will go away after 3 drives. But today I started my car and I suppose I went to much with the key; meaning cranking too much at the ignition. Once I did this the INDICATOR LAMP came on again. I don't know what could be the problem any info. would be helpful.

thank you,

Kris
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 9:34 PM   #2
RC99TL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RC99TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: nj
Age: 48
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Points: 8,809, Level: 63
Points: 8,809, Level: 63 Points: 8,809, Level: 63 Points: 8,809, Level: 63
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Hi,
Either buy an engine analyzer (around $40) or run to Autozone or the like for a free check. They will read the code(s) that cause the light to go on and be able to set you on the path to resolution. Please keep in mind the codes are just clues to the problem and not always the actual issue. An example would be a code for insufficient EGR valve lift. More often the valve is fine but the EGR port(s) in the intake manifold are clogging.
There are hundreds of threads the seafoam treatment -read up.
Good luck.
__________________
99 TL > braided steel brake lines- Power Slot rotors with OEM pads (great combo). k&n-ported airbox. Tokico blues and Conti Sport Contact DWS.

No matter where you go, there you are.
RC99TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 9:54 PM   #3
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
^ Thanks, I'm located in CA so I don't believe I can get a free check @ Autozone etc...
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:06 PM   #4
randomthought
rebmeM deretsigeR
2003 Acura 3.2 TL
 
randomthought's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 566
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Points: 6,732, Level: 53
Points: 6,732, Level: 53 Points: 6,732, Level: 53 Points: 6,732, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Ask any friends if they have a reader as well, or the family mechanic. Figure out why the MIL is turning on before trying anything out.
randomthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 1:59 AM   #5
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Yep find a friend or a member here with a code scanner or maybe an independent shop can help. We really cant help until we see some codes.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 7:22 AM   #6
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,335
Thanks: 546
Thanked 1,812 Times in 1,327 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Activity: 99.6%
Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6%
Malfunction as in Check Engine soon light OR Maintenance Required light? If its the CEL light we cant tell you what is wrong unless you have codes.
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 7:45 AM   #7
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
^ Malfunction as in Check Engine soon light
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 10:52 AM   #8
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,974
Thanks: 344
Thanked 742 Times in 691 Posts
Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Activity: 60.5%
Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5%
look in Regions section at top of pages here- so cal has many ziners, more than one of them carries a code reader and are happy to help you out

ck the actual seal on the gas cap, or go ahead and replace it based on age- to eleminate a possible
thats IF the prob occurs imediatly AFTER refueling

otherwise it could be too many things
Do you always stop at first auto shutoff of gas pump? - or do you top off the tank?
dont do that- really bad on other components and will cause codes
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 10:55 AM   #9
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,974
Thanks: 344
Thanked 742 Times in 691 Posts
Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Activity: 60.5%
Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5%
car year and miles always helps in posting for assistance
plugs replaced? etc
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 11:16 AM   #10
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
^ so your suggesting to replace with a new gas cap? I always stop @ auto shutoff of gas pump, never top off. 2000, 156,000, plugs were replaced last summer.
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 11:24 AM   #11
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Need codes read. Right now we're just picking straws.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:20 PM   #12
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
Bought a scanner, 3 codes; p0118, p1676 and p1739
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:27 PM   #13
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
p0118= engine coolant temperature circuit high input

p1676= FPTDR signal failure

p1739= automatic transaxle


need help
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 3:50 PM   #14
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Sometimes the 1739 is a random code. Fix the other issues and it goes away.(hopefully)
The other codes are not in my mental library. Must seek higher knowledge.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 3:51 PM   #15
sammy95
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Points: 2,270, Level: 28
Points: 2,270, Level: 28 Points: 2,270, Level: 28 Points: 2,270, Level: 28
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Google!
sammy95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 3:57 PM   #16
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Googled.....

Seems like 1676 has to do with the TCS/ABS.

From Acura:
DTC P1676: FPTDR Signal Line Malfunction '99 model TL
Reset the PCM. Start the engine and wait 10 seconds. Is DTC P1676 indicated? YES -Go to step 3. NO -Intermittent failure system is OK at this time.
Check for poor connections or loose wires at the ABS/TCS control unit and the PCM.
Step 3-Turn the ignition switch OFF. Disconnect the PCM connector E (12P) and the ABS/TCS control unit 16P connector. Check for continuity between body gound and PCM connector terminal E1. Is there continuity? YES -Repair short in the wire between the ABS/TCS control unit and the PCM (E1).n NO -Go to step 6.
Check for continuity between ABS/TCS control unit 16P connector terminal No. 1 and PCM connector terminal E1. Reconnect the PCM connector E (12P). Connect PCM connector terminals E1 and C28 with a jumper wire. Reset the PCM.
Start the engine and wait 60 seconds. Is DTC P1678 indicated? YES -Substitute a known-good ABS/TCS control unit and recheck. If the symptom/indication goes away, replace the original ABS/TCS control unit.n NO -Substitute a known-good PCM and recheck. If the symptom/indication goes away, replace the original PCM.n Is there continuity? YES -Go to step 7. NO -Repair open in the wire between the ABS/TCS control unit and the PCM (E1).n

Basically, it's an ABS/TCS control unit failure......
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to my.daily'tl' For This Useful Post:
01tl4tl (11-04-2011)
Old 11-03-2011, 4:07 PM   #17
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
Well, I've viewed the forums here and some have installed a new ignition switch for the p1676 code. In addition, some have installed a new third pressure plate, for p1739 code, still can't find a part # for the third pressure plate or switch or solenoid? As for engine coolant temp. still not sure but pretty much the same, install new sensor yet to find a part # for that code p0118. Any help or advice would be highly appreciated.
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 4:10 PM   #18
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
interesting my.daily'tl' I took the notion that p1676 had to do with the ignition......
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 5:24 PM   #19
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
There's a recent list of codes post. Look in there.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 5:28 PM   #20
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Our switch failures symptoms usually are loss of power while driving, hard start. Recalled on 99's. Later models had fewer problems.

Took mine apart and cleaned it. Saved 50 bucks.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 5:39 PM   #21
my.daily'tl'
Always Working In
1999 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Decatur,Ga
Age: 38
Posts: 520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39 Points: 3,889, Level: 39
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
DTC P1676: FRAME-TO-POWERTRAIN TORQUE DOWN REQUEST (FPTDR) SIGNAL LINE FAILURE

Basically its sensing an issue with the wiring from the tcm to the trans. Youll need to go through the steps above to find the problem.
my.daily'tl' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 10:46 AM   #22
dc5nomore
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20 Points: 1,368, Level: 20
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
Well, I spoke to my certified Acura mechanic and he said I would need a new ignition switch as well new engine coolant temp. sensor. As for the third pressure plate he said that would be a waste of money due too the high mileage of the vehicle. He basically said that I would need a new transmission in the near future.
dc5nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 10:46 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1739, 2003, accura, acura, cap, cl, dtcs, gas, idicator, indicator, lamp, light, malfunction, malfuntion, signal, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup