Oil pressure switch location?? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2011, 9:12 PM   #1
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Oil pressure switch location??

Well, I've finished working on removing axle, I decided to replace every ball joint. That took a while though.

Anyway, I've gotta deal with the flashing oil pressure light.
As I posted before, I'm assuming it's oil pressure sensor. #16 here
Click the image to open in full size.

So I've checked passenger side, around the oil filter, all I could found was vtec solenoid(#17) and drain plug which looks just like oil pressure sensor.

Does anybody know where it's located? help me out!
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 9:42 PM   #2
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,335
Thanks: 546
Thanked 1,812 Times in 1,327 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Activity: 99.6%
Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6%
16 is the oil pressure switch.
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 5:03 AM   #3
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
^do know..........can't get the location of the switch, that's all
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 7:52 AM   #4
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,335
Thanks: 546
Thanked 1,812 Times in 1,327 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Activity: 99.6%
Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mack89 View Post
^do know..........can't get the location of the switch, that's all
What do you mean? you cant get the location of it? or you dont know where it is in relation to the motor? Its on the passenger side of the motor on towards the rear. You can probably get to it thru the passenger side wheel well. Or just below the car up past the axle
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 3:11 AM   #5
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Sorry I haven't worked on this car for few days..
^Yes, you're right. I just cannot get the location of it..I've dismantled passenger side of suspension/axle, so I have clear access. But I cannot find it..
It's gotta be somewhere around Vtec solenoid, #17 in picture above, since the oil pump has got to be located nearby oil filter and oil pan, yes?
Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 3:20 AM   #6
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Click the image to open in full size.

Took a picture in different angle..
That one between drain plug and vtec solenoid, wrapped with black thing, is that oil pressure sensor?
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:15 AM   #7
spiro
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 3,094, Level: 34
Points: 3,094, Level: 34 Points: 3,094, Level: 34 Points: 3,094, Level: 34
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Do you have the new switch?
Match it up with the ones you suspect to be the switch.
Take the connector off the suspect one and plug it into the new one( without taking the old one out)
the connector in any particular area is unique.
spiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:30 AM   #8
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,974
Thanks: 344
Thanked 742 Times in 691 Posts
Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Activity: 60.5%
Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5%
the op sensor is likely to have only 1 wire to it

buy new part and match up!
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 12:54 PM   #9
totaledTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
totaledTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 52
Posts: 2,337
Thanks: 10
Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Unplug suspected sensor, start eng. & see if oil light stays on-?

Let us know which one it turns out to be.

Last edited by totaledTL; 03-27-2011 at 12:57 PM.
totaledTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 2:25 PM   #10
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I haven't received the order, but that is my plan at this moment.
I'll update in few days
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 5:24 PM   #11
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Ok, turns out it was indeed oil pressure switch.
Since I couldn't find any DIY regarding this sucker, I'll give you a little gift. Here's little DIY.

I've removed axle and strut, it gave me plenty of room..But most of you won't be in same situation, this DIY might just give you sketchy idea of how to remove the switch. You may need different tool and different approach.

Ok, here we go

So, here's little bastard you need to remove.

Click the image to open in full size.


There was no way that I can pull the rubber boot gently, I had to tear it. Well in 10 years seems like switch has never been replaced, boot just fell apart like a cookie

Click the image to open in full size.

After you remove the boot, you now have access to the tube.
That yellow thing goes all the way down to the nipple.

Click the image to open in full size.


Space is going to be tight since Vtec solenoid is blocking the way. Lets remove it.

Use 22mm combination wrench, or you could use crows foot wrench if you cannot access to it freely because of axle and strut.

Click the image to open in full size.

Now, remove the clip. If you cannot remove it, turn the solenoid a little bit so you can see it.

Click the image to open in full size.


Click the image to open in full size.

Now you have access to oil pressure switch.
Use 24mm wrench, turn it counter-clockwise.

Click the image to open in full size.

Yeah here's a little bastard.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Well if you have new switch in your hand, replace it right away. Otherwise, put some paper towel so dust won't get in there.

Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by Mack89; 03-27-2011 at 5:30 PM.
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mack89 For This Useful Post:
victus1 (02-13-2012)
Old 03-27-2011, 7:32 PM   #12
totaledTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
totaledTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 52
Posts: 2,337
Thanks: 10
Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Did you confirm it's bad by testing it?

Recently had one replaced on an old Accord w/ an Auto Zone part that proved to be defective. Oil light came on but pressure was good. Might be worth it to use OEM.
totaledTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 9:56 PM   #13
Mack89
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33 Points: 2,985, Level: 33
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
^Well, even after disconnecting wires, oil pressure light was keep flashing. I'm guessing I can absolutely confirm after replacing switch itself..OEM switch was only $15, worth using OEM definitely.
Mack89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:53 AM   #14
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 30,974
Thanks: 344
Thanked 742 Times in 691 Posts
Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100 Points: 40,189, Level: 100
Activity: 60.5%
Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5% Activity: 60.5%
engine gurus:
does vtec have a seperate oil pressure warning system that would make the light flash?
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:34 AM   #15
totaledTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
totaledTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 52
Posts: 2,337
Thanks: 10
Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Could be an open in the wiring to it.
totaledTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 7:08 PM   #16
ThreePointTwoTeeEl
3.2TL
1999 Acura TL
 
ThreePointTwoTeeEl's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mooresville, NC
Age: 26
Posts: 1,425
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,722, Level: 62
Points: 8,722, Level: 62 Points: 8,722, Level: 62 Points: 8,722, Level: 62
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Would the switch or sensor leak oil?
ThreePointTwoTeeEl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 6:36 PM   #17
closetprisoner
2000 Acura TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
closetprisoner's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastbay, CA
Posts: 212
Thanks: 6
Thanked 60 Times in 31 Posts
Points: 3,829, Level: 39
Points: 3,829, Level: 39 Points: 3,829, Level: 39 Points: 3,829, Level: 39
Activity: 1.5%
Activity: 1.5% Activity: 1.5% Activity: 1.5%
Possible, if bad washer
__________________
.....
closetprisoner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 5:22 PM   #18
TLer trash
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 62
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 16
Thanked 145 Times in 123 Posts
Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Activity: 3.7%
Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01tl4tl View Post
engine gurus:
does vtec have a seperate oil pressure warning system that would make the light flash?
There is a separate oil pressure sensor/switch that lets the ecm know if the vtec solenoid has opened, allowing oil pressure to the vtec system. It won't turn on the oil pressure light, but it will set a code and turn on the cel. There's a little confusion between the switch and the solenoid in this thread , not to mention mixing up the oil pressure switch with the vtec oil pressure switch.
In the diagram, 14 is the vtec solenoid, 17 is the vtec oil pressure switch, and 16 is the engine oil pressure switch/sender/sensor. The second picture in post 5 shows the vtec solenoid on the right and the vtec oil pressure switch on the left. The engine oil pressure sender is hidden under a little black rubber boot, I forgot which picture.
TLer trash is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TLer trash For This Useful Post:
totaledTL (02-16-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 5:28 PM   #19
TLer trash
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 62
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 16
Thanked 145 Times in 123 Posts
Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Activity: 3.7%
Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreePointTwoTeeEl View Post
Would the switch or sensor leak oil?
The engine oil pressure sender/sensor is a rather common leak, it does not have a washer like the vtec oil sensor. I'm also starting to see more oil leaks between the engine block and the oil pump housing on high mileage j engines.
TLer trash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 5:11 AM   #20
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLer trash View Post
The engine oil pressure sender/sensor is a rather common leak, it does not have a washer like the vtec oil sensor. I'm also starting to see more oil leaks between the engine block and the oil pump housing on high mileage j engines.

I've got oil burning off the rear/bottom, coming across the pan.
Snugged up a few of the 10mm pan bolts, but the smell has returned.

While #17 vtec oil pressure switch has appeared to have a small drip, it didn't appear to be worse.
So now you're saying to take a harder look at #16 engine oil pressure switch/sender/sensor ?
If it does not have a washer, would one snug it up if it is weeping?

Question:
Both the vtec solenoid and vtec oil pressure switch are exposed to the flowing oil?
Either can leak?
What is the difference in function?

Thanks!
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 5:21 PM   #21
TLer trash
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 62
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 16
Thanked 145 Times in 123 Posts
Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Activity: 3.7%
Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sperry View Post
I've got oil burning off the rear/bottom, coming across the pan.
Snugged up a few of the 10mm pan bolts, but the smell has returned.

While #17 vtec oil pressure switch has appeared to have a small drip, it didn't appear to be worse.
So now you're saying to take a harder look at #16 engine oil pressure switch/sender/sensor ?
If it does not have a washer, would one snug it up if it is weeping?

Question:
Both the vtec solenoid and vtec oil pressure switch are exposed to the flowing oil?
Either can leak?
What is the difference in function?

Thanks!
The engine oil pressure sender is a common leak source. It's tapered pipe thread, no gasket, and I've never seen one leak at the threads. They leak under the rubber boot where the wire goes in.
The engine oil pressure sensor sees pressure whenever the engine is running. The vtec solenoid [not the sensor] has pressure on one side whenever the engine is running. The vtec oil sensor only sees pressure during vtec operation, when the vtec solenoid is energized and open.
Basically, clean everything in that area with brake cleaner and run it until you can isolate the leak. There are about 5 or 6 common leak sources in that specific area; you may have more than one.
TLer trash is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TLer trash For This Useful Post:
Sperry (02-21-2012)
Old 02-26-2012, 2:38 PM   #22
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Got it all cleaned up, and ran it today. Back up on ramps, I'm thrilled to notice it is not a main seal.
However, it does look to be the vtec oil pressure switch.

There's no way to get a clear look at it, however, from beneath or from above, it there?

Does one remove the axle to do a replacement?
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 3:34 PM   #23
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Best as I can tell, I'd have to remove the front strut bar [#22] or remove the fuse box, to get my arm down to the oil pressure switch. Is this the consensus?

I dinna want to remove the axle. Are there any issues setting the fuse box to one side?

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 4:37 PM   #24
TLer trash
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 62
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 16
Thanked 145 Times in 123 Posts
Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Activity: 3.7%
Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7%
I've always done them on a hoist with the suspension hanging, but without removing the axle, sway bar or fuse box. It's a bit of a pain, but not that bad.
TLer trash is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TLer trash For This Useful Post:
Sperry (02-27-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 5:42 PM   #25
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLer trash View Post
I've always done them on a hoist with the suspension hanging, but without removing the axle, sway bar or fuse box. It's a bit of a pain, but not that bad.
Ahh, so my ramps are not the ticket. Has to be up on jack stands or even better, hoisted up. I can see how access would be easier if one could stand under the car, with the suspension hanging down.

The Ajax floor jack lost it's seal, and the rebuild is over a month away.
At least I'll have more time to plan the operation.
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 4:23 PM   #26
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLer trash View Post
The engine oil pressure sender is a common leak source.
It's tapered pipe thread, no gasket, and I've never seen one leak at the threads.
They leak under the rubber boot where the wire goes in.
The black lead going to the oil pressure sender is a wire with an electrical signal?

The boot might rip, but it is no big deal?

How about if I put the car on stands, and removed the front passenger tire? Would I get right in from the side?

I plunked down my coin for an inspection mirror today, and with that and my Surefire E2E,
am now 95% sure the leak is #16 in the schematic.
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 5:34 PM   #27
TLer trash
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 62
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 16
Thanked 145 Times in 123 Posts
Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57 Points: 7,535, Level: 57
Activity: 3.7%
Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7% Activity: 3.7%
Yeah, look at post #11. The first 3 pictures show the boot and what you typically do to remove it. They never come off in one piece. I've never seen the lack of a boot cause any problems yet. I would definitely take the wheel off, but I don't know if it will be a lot of help. If push comes to shove, I would hope you have it done by a garage for around $50.
TLer trash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 5:41 PM   #28
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
Here's the sensor, sitting in the 24mm socket.

I plan on getting the cable off the sensor and setting the
socket/extension from below, and ratcheting it from above.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 9:41 PM   #29
Sperry
2000 TL Black on Beige
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sperry's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 400
Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Never in life, I hope! What is Twitter ??? Is this, like, a sex club?
Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48 Points: 5,593, Level: 48
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
My jack is still limp, so roll-on stands it will be. This pic is taken by scooting my head all the way back against the passanger tire.

Clear shot right to the pressure switch. I plan on using a 15" long slotted screwdriver to pry/pop the boot off from both the left and right sides. Then, place the socket with universal and a short extention from below. Connect the rest of the extension from the barely accessible area behind the engine.

Is this nuts? Will it work? Or am I better off paying the $50 smackers to the guy across the street? Hey, $50 bucks goes a long way towards 8 year rum and cigars. Gotta get my priorities right.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
177,000 - TRADED 3/12/2013 @ Granite Run GMC. Bought by a guy from Delaware . . .
DIY: Fix banging, clattering wipers
DIY: Replace side engine mount

American Toolbox
Sperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 9:41 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
03, 3rd, 96, 98, acura, cl, diy, location, oil, pressure, rl, rsx, sensor, switch, switches, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup