Automatic window feature not working - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2009, 5:10 PM   #1
ljluck
**2005 TL & 2001 MDX**
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Herriman UT
Age: 38
Posts: 16
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,792, Level: 32
Points: 2,792, Level: 32 Points: 2,792, Level: 32 Points: 2,792, Level: 32
Activity: 1.1%
Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1%
Automatic window feature not working

I just got my 05 TL from the shop because I had to have some scratches repaired on the drivers side door. I noticed now that the automatic window feature does not work. The power windows do, but the feature when you press the button once to open or close the window automatically does not, but does on the passenger side. Anyone know what could be the problem? Why would that now work? Is the a connector that came unconnected? I never realized how much I liked this feature until now that I don't have it.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
ljluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 5:22 PM   #2
princelybug
LIST/RAMEN/WING MAHSTA 짱
2012 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
princelybug's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (16)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buena Park, Cali.
Posts: 23,752
Thanks: 46
Thanked 111 Times in 86 Posts
Points: 25,490, Level: 96
Points: 25,490, Level: 96 Points: 25,490, Level: 96 Points: 25,490, Level: 96
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Hmm...

When I had my Audi, this happened to me. I don't know if it'll work on the TL, but try this:

Keep your finger depressed fully on the window switch the whole time you roll down the window. After it is fully down, keep your finger on the switch fully depressed for 2 seconds.

Then, do the opposite when you roll the window up. Keep the switch fully lifted up while the window rolls up, and for an extra 2 seconds after it is fully closed.

Now, try the auto up/down feature and see if it works.

It's worth a try.
__________________
'12 AWP II MDX Tech (Current)
'07 NBP TL Type-S 6MT(Sold) <-- Click

princelybug is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to princelybug For This Useful Post:
ABP_04TL (02-23-2012), JDiMage (03-09-2012), jisleyjr (03-01-2012), ljluck (05-25-2012), SurfingScotty (09-20-2011), tatonvn (12-04-2012)
Old 12-31-2009, 5:34 PM   #3
ljluck
**2005 TL & 2001 MDX**
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Herriman UT
Age: 38
Posts: 16
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 2,792, Level: 32
Points: 2,792, Level: 32 Points: 2,792, Level: 32 Points: 2,792, Level: 32
Activity: 1.1%
Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1%
worth a try it was - thanks Princelybug that did the trick!! that was easy, thank goodness it wasn't the regulator! You're awesome!
ljluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 5:40 PM   #4
princelybug
LIST/RAMEN/WING MAHSTA 짱
2012 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
princelybug's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (16)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buena Park, Cali.
Posts: 23,752
Thanks: 46
Thanked 111 Times in 86 Posts
Points: 25,490, Level: 96
Points: 25,490, Level: 96 Points: 25,490, Level: 96 Points: 25,490, Level: 96
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
No problem! I'm glad it worked!
__________________
'12 AWP II MDX Tech (Current)
'07 NBP TL Type-S 6MT(Sold) <-- Click

princelybug is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to princelybug For This Useful Post:
Boardwalk (06-21-2011)
Old 01-01-2010, 7:29 PM   #5
AckTL05
Vendor
Garage is empty, add now
 
AckTL05's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (18)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 19
Thanked 137 Times in 108 Posts
ENDLESSRPM EndLessRPM
Points: 36,954, Level: 100
Points: 36,954, Level: 100 Points: 36,954, Level: 100 Points: 36,954, Level: 100
Activity: 2.9%
Activity: 2.9% Activity: 2.9% Activity: 2.9%
technology is very..very..interesting
__________________
Custom Tail/Head Lights 3G TL - Click here
Custom Tail/Head Lights 4G TL - Click here
FOLLOW me on Intagram: ENDLESSRPM
PM me for OEM Accord Fogs for the 04-06 TL and new OEM parts
Info: BRUCEJTL@gmail.com / Facebook : EndLessRPM
AckTL05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AckTL05 For This Useful Post:
Undying Dreams (11-09-2012)
Old 06-18-2010, 2:32 PM   #6
Xiteg
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age: 35
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,866, Level: 32
Points: 2,866, Level: 32 Points: 2,866, Level: 32 Points: 2,866, Level: 32
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
wow that worked!! but... now the driver side will only go half way up and stop??!! then i have to roll it the rest of the way up manually.

any thoughts?
Xiteg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 6:21 PM   #7
acurapartssource
Former Sponsor
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tempe AZ
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,456, Level: 21
Points: 1,456, Level: 21 Points: 1,456, Level: 21 Points: 1,456, Level: 21
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Power window Control Unit Reset (without HDS)1Turn the ignition switch ON (II).2Move the driver's (passenger's) window all the way down by using the driver's (passenger's) window DOWN switch.3Open the driver's (passenger's) door.NOTE: step 4-7 must be done within 5 seconds of each other.4Turn the ignition switch OFF.5Push and hold the driver's (passenger's) window DOWN switch.6Turn the ignition switch ON (II).7Release the driver's (passenger's) window DOWN switch.8Repeat step 4-7 three more times.9Wait 1 second.10Confirm that AUTO UP and AUTO DOWN do not work. If AUTO UP and DOWN work, go back to step 1.11Move the driver's (passenger's) window all the way down by using the driver's (passenger's) window DOWN switch.12Pull up and hold the driver's (passenger's) window UP switch until the window reaches the fully closed position, then continue to hold the switch for 1 second.13Confirm that the power window control unit is reset by using the driver's (passenger's) window AUTO UP and AUTO DOWN function.If the window still does not work in AUTO, repeat the procedure several times, paying close attention to the 5 second time limit between steps. If it still does not work, go to B-CAN System Diagnosis Test Mode A.Personally I'd take it back to the Dealer, But if your Handy i Hope this Helps
acurapartssource is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:54 PM   #8
TL-Rocket
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greenfield, MA
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 10,723, Level: 68
Points: 10,723, Level: 68 Points: 10,723, Level: 68 Points: 10,723, Level: 68
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by princelybug View Post
Hmm...

When I had my Audi, this happened to me. I don't know if it'll work on the TL, but try this:

Keep your finger depressed fully on the window switch the whole time you roll down the window. After it is fully down, keep your finger on the switch fully depressed for 2 seconds.

Then, do the opposite when you roll the window up. Keep the switch fully lifted up while the window rolls up, and for an extra 2 seconds after it is fully closed.

Now, try the auto up/down feature and see if it works.

It's worth a try.
I just tried this and it works!!

Thanks,
TL-Rocket
TL-Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 4:47 PM   #9
Burt the Boater
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 3,055, Level: 34
Points: 3,055, Level: 34 Points: 3,055, Level: 34 Points: 3,055, Level: 34
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Thank you Princely Bug and TL Rocket, I too just tried this after I replaced my second Acura battery in three years. The auto up/down feature stopped working after I replaced the battery, but your two second hold procedure worked!

Cheers,

Burt
Burt the Boater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 11:40 PM   #10
gogators22
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 33
Posts: 337
Thanks: 63
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,969, Level: 40
Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40
Activity: 1.7%
Activity: 1.7% Activity: 1.7% Activity: 1.7%
Quote:
Originally Posted by princelybug View Post
Hmm...

When I had my Audi, this happened to me. I don't know if it'll work on the TL, but try this:

Keep your finger depressed fully on the window switch the whole time you roll down the window. After it is fully down, keep your finger on the switch fully depressed for 2 seconds.

Then, do the opposite when you roll the window up. Keep the switch fully lifted up while the window rolls up, and for an extra 2 seconds after it is fully closed.

Now, try the auto up/down feature and see if it works.

It's worth a try.
you mean fully depressed without pushing hard enough to trigger the auto, right?
gogators22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 6:31 PM   #11
gogators22
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 33
Posts: 337
Thanks: 63
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 3,969, Level: 40
Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40 Points: 3,969, Level: 40
Activity: 1.7%
Activity: 1.7% Activity: 1.7% Activity: 1.7%
since this thread is being bumped as the "reset" thread, I just wanted to let other members know this DOESN'T WORK.

It's the regulator from what I've read.
gogators22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 2:43 PM   #12
NIGHTEHAWK
Big plans not enough $$$
2005 Chevrolet Corvette
My Garage
 
NIGHTEHAWK's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pasco,WA
Age: 24
Posts: 577
Thanks: 27
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
Roberto Jr Delamora
Points: 3,172, Level: 34
Points: 3,172, Level: 34 Points: 3,172, Level: 34 Points: 3,172, Level: 34
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
It worked for me, thanks!
NIGHTEHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 10:01 PM   #13
Boardwalk
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 32
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 788, Level: 14
Points: 788, Level: 14 Points: 788, Level: 14 Points: 788, Level: 14
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
I replaced my battery today and I was wondering why my auto window on the driver side wasn't working. but good info, thanks princelybug and acurapartssource that easy fix worked.
Boardwalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 12:36 PM   #14
wise_optimist
Registered Member
2010 Mercedes-Benz R-Class
My Garage
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Age: 33
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 3,189, Level: 34
Points: 3,189, Level: 34 Points: 3,189, Level: 34 Points: 3,189, Level: 34
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogators22 View Post
since this thread is being bumped as the "reset" thread, I just wanted to let other members know this DOESN'T WORK.

It's the regulator from what I've read.
Sometimes it can be "reset" using method described above (I've done this before and worked for me). However, if the regulator is malfunctioning, above method doesn't help (Figuring out how much it would cost me since my regulators are shot on both sides).
__________________
2005 Acura TL Navi
wise_optimist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:54 PM   #15
JDiMage
Registered Member
2004 Acura TL
My Garage
 
JDiMage's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Little Rock, AR
Age: 30
Posts: 188
Thanks: 26
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
profile.php?id=603002125&ref=tn_tnmn
Points: 1,931, Level: 26
Points: 1,931, Level: 26 Points: 1,931, Level: 26 Points: 1,931, Level: 26
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Just worked for me, I know this is old but thanks anyways!
__________________
92 GS-R SOLD!! ("JDM" styled), 94 Civic LX (slammed beater)
01 CR-V (90k, JDM front bumper, lowered, 18"HFP, full A/V)
04 TL 6SPD W/Nav (Fabulous Profound 19x9/10 "VIP" styled)
http://www.facebook.com/jdimagecrew
TEAMV2LAB
JDiMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:01 PM   #16
Splke
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bronx, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 80
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Points: 3,024, Level: 33
Points: 3,024, Level: 33 Points: 3,024, Level: 33 Points: 3,024, Level: 33
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
^^^ yeah dude, this just worked for me too. This one is worth bringing back from the dead.
Splke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 5:40 PM   #17
MrNachoCheese
Registered Member
2003 Acura CL
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Age: 30
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 823, Level: 15
Points: 823, Level: 15 Points: 823, Level: 15 Points: 823, Level: 15
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
This worked on my '03 CL as well.
MrNachoCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 6:50 PM   #18
Toppatop
Registered Member
2008 Acura RL
 
Toppatop's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 261
Thanks: 4
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
@toppatop55 Toppatop
Points: 2,680, Level: 31
Points: 2,680, Level: 31 Points: 2,680, Level: 31 Points: 2,680, Level: 31
Activity: 3.1%
Activity: 3.1% Activity: 3.1% Activity: 3.1%
Great advise. Just worked on my 08 Acura RL. Thanks
__________________
"Life is good."
Toppatop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:55 PM   #19
MyFreakGSR
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 29
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 129, Level: 2
Points: 129, Level: 2 Points: 129, Level: 2 Points: 129, Level: 2
Activity: 1.8%
Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8% Activity: 1.8%
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogators22 View Post
since this thread is being bumped as the "reset" thread, I just wanted to let other members know this DOESN'T WORK.

It's the regulator from what I've read.
Well, your partially correct.

When the window auto feature does not work at all. You can do the window reset procedure where you hold it for 2 seconds.

BUT, if you have a window that goes up part way then stops and goes back down...that is when you need a regulator. (sometimes it can be reset and it will work again for a little while.) There is a service bulletin for 04-08 TL's for this very problem.
MyFreakGSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:24 PM   #20
vietxquangstah
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
vietxquangstah's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (5)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DALLAS TX
Posts: 3,131
Thanks: 110
Thanked 575 Times in 416 Posts
QMANTRAN
Points: 9,269, Level: 64
Points: 9,269, Level: 64 Points: 9,269, Level: 64 Points: 9,269, Level: 64
Activity: 18.3%
Activity: 18.3% Activity: 18.3% Activity: 18.3%
My car is salvage title. Will dealers still perform TSB recall work for free or no? I noticed my front passenger glass has scratches on the outside of the glass from going up and down. Sometimes it will automatically stop and roll back down partially when I press auto up for it. I have to manually roll it up by not pressing it to the 2nd click and hold it until it closes properly
vietxquangstah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:05 PM   #21
scrim67
Registered Member
2007 Acura RL
 
scrim67's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2012
Age: 47
Posts: 80
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Points: 1,862, Level: 25
Points: 1,862, Level: 25 Points: 1,862, Level: 25 Points: 1,862, Level: 25
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Yesterday I inadvertantly left my ignition switch in the II position while I was on a long phone call in my RL. Well not surprisingly I drained the battery.

While waiting for AAA my vehicle did start up without a jump but I noticed two things:

My nav/radio was asking me for a PIN number
My windows were acting very strangely


Well I saved myself a trip to the dealer by using this website and fixed both problems on my own.

The windows situation I may never have figured out on my own as I did not see any mention of a WINDOWS RESET anywhere in the manual.

Thanks all!!!

mike
scrim67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 5:51 PM   #22
Anonymous95
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 334, Level: 6
Points: 334, Level: 6 Points: 334, Level: 6 Points: 334, Level: 6
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
AHH saved my life...was freaking out for a second. Love this forum!
Anonymous95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 8:15 PM   #23
dommafia
04TL4L
Garage is empty, add now
 
dommafia's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ptwizzle, nj
Age: 32
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 3,927, Level: 39
Points: 3,927, Level: 39 Points: 3,927, Level: 39 Points: 3,927, Level: 39
Activity: 1.6%
Activity: 1.6% Activity: 1.6% Activity: 1.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by princelybug View Post
Hmm...

When I had my Audi, this happened to me. I don't know if it'll work on the TL, but try this:

Keep your finger depressed fully on the window switch the whole time you roll down the window. After it is fully down, keep your finger on the switch fully depressed for 2 seconds.

Then, do the opposite when you roll the window up. Keep the switch fully lifted up while the window rolls up, and for an extra 2 seconds after it is fully closed.

Now, try the auto up/down feature and see if it works.

It's worth a try.
Old thread but you just saved me a trip to the dealer, worked!!!
dommafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 8:15 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2001, 2003, 2007, acura, auto, automatic, half, mdx, passenger, power, rsx, switch, tl, window, windows, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup