quick questions: hardwire radar detector, which fuse? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2009, 8:43 PM   #1
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
quick questions: hardwire radar detector, which fuse?

I searched forum but could not find my answer.
the kits from ebay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=280270463207
I want to hardwire to interior fuse box (left bottom of driver side), so when car turn off, the radar can also be turned off. Could you guys tell me which fuse (number) should I use? Or you use t-tap to connect to the power cable at map light? If the installing pics (or link) be provided, that will be great!!

Thanks so much!
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!

Last edited by maclion; 07-26-2009 at 8:46 PM.
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 9:05 AM   #2
sortudo7
Site Lurker, Rare poster
Garage is empty, add now
 
sortudo7's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: VA
Age: 29
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 3,248, Level: 35
Points: 3,248, Level: 35 Points: 3,248, Level: 35 Points: 3,248, Level: 35
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
I didn't want to connect to a fuse or use a T-tap as t-taps are unreliable. I just spliced into the wires for the cigarette lighter and it works the same and gives a constant voltage with no issue. Ran the wire up the A-pillar and headliner and rest was history. Takes about 10 minutes or so from start to finish, including soldering.
__________________
08 ABP TSX
sortudo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 9:51 AM   #3
alex.alm
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here is a great thread for help. I believe the switched fuses only run power with the car on, but I would run the power through a toggle switch so you have the option of turning the detector off while driving. You never know if you might want it off and its a pretty easy wiring job. Check this thread out for help wiring a switch.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @alexalm
alex.alm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 3:58 PM   #4
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,735
Thanks: 0
Thanked 145 Times in 126 Posts
Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Activity: 2.4%
Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4%
Don't fool around with cords and fuses and taps and all that. Invisicord (invisicord.com) is the only way to go. It's a cord that plugs into you're detector and into the power for the auto dimming rear view mirror (the only thing that G**D** auto rear view mirror is good for). Works like a charm (and is switched).
Simba91102 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 4:03 PM   #5
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
good idea, but how to run through behind the cigarette lighter? Radar--headliner--A-pillar--and then what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sortudo7 View Post
I didn't want to connect to a fuse or use a T-tap as t-taps are unreliable. I just spliced into the wires for the cigarette lighter and it works the same and gives a constant voltage with no issue. Ran the wire up the A-pillar and headliner and rest was history. Takes about 10 minutes or so from start to finish, including soldering.
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 5:33 PM   #6
Tsx536
Rep'n Taxbrain.com
Garage is empty, add now
 
Tsx536's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N. Cali-forn-i-a
Age: 34
Posts: 7,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Here ya go. An oldie but goodie! I updated that other thread too.

The things in that picture are called mini add a circuit. I believe it also has a fuse inline.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
04 TSX CGP Quartz Auto 265whp/199tq
Hondata K-Pro / Comptech SC / Icebox / DC Header
Advan / Rays / Racing Brake / Hawk / Spoon / Tanabe / Neuspeed / SPC
Pioneer / Ipod / Sirius / JL Audio / Diamond Audio / Infinity / Phoenix Gold / PLX / Valentine
Tsx536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 8:15 PM   #7
sortudo7
Site Lurker, Rare poster
Garage is empty, add now
 
sortudo7's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: VA
Age: 29
Posts: 462
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 3,248, Level: 35
Points: 3,248, Level: 35 Points: 3,248, Level: 35 Points: 3,248, Level: 35
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclion View Post
good idea, but how to run through behind the cigarette lighter? Radar--headliner--A-pillar--and then what?
Under the steering wheel you just remove the panels and side panel by the gas pedal. You will see the wires to the lighter and you just splice into them and solder and tape them up. You can then run the direct wire cord up the side A pillar and headliner. It would make it easier to remove that middle cubby/cd holder to see and access the wires. I did mine months ago so can't remember the exact steps but it sounds much more involved than it really is.

cigarette lighter wires--direct wire chord splice--run up a-piller--then through headliner--into radar detector. You don't have to remove all of it but just pop up a side/portion of it to slide the wire into.

I agree that it is nice to have a kill switch incase you want to ever kill the detector but that's your choice to install or not. Also would depend on what detector you have. I am running a Bel RX65 Pro and my boy has a V1 which our boy installed into his Accord the same exact way.
__________________
08 ABP TSX
sortudo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 9:30 PM   #8
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks, sortudo7 and Tsx536.

Both are very informative,very good!.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsx536 View Post
Here ya go. An oldie but goodie! I updated that other thread too.

The things in that picture are called mini add a circuit. I believe it also has a fuse inline.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sortudo7 View Post
Under the steering wheel you just remove the panels and side panel by the gas pedal. You will see the wires to the lighter and you just splice into them and solder and tape them up. You can then run the direct wire cord up the side A pillar and headliner. It would make it easier to remove that middle cubby/cd holder to see and access the wires. I did mine months ago so can't remember the exact steps but it sounds much more involved than it really is.

cigarette lighter wires--direct wire chord splice--run up a-piller--then through headliner--into radar detector. You don't have to remove all of it but just pop up a side/portion of it to slide the wire into.

I agree that it is nice to have a kill switch incase you want to ever kill the detector but that's your choice to install or not. Also would depend on what detector you have. I am running a Bel RX65 Pro and my boy has a V1 which our boy installed into his Accord the same exact way.
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:38 PM   #9
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,735
Thanks: 0
Thanked 145 Times in 126 Posts
Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Activity: 2.4%
Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclion View Post
good idea, but how to run through behind the cigarette lighter? Radar--headliner--A-pillar--and then what?
As I said earlier, there's no need to fool around the fuse box or running any wires. The invisicord (which comes in two sizes I think, like 8" or 12", something like that) comes with a modular connection on one end (like the one that plugs into a phone jack and is the connection on every decent radar detector that I know of these days) and the other end has a silver prong on each wire that plugs into the power plug for the mirror. This of course assumes that you'll mount the detector in the most logical place, next to the rear view mirror. Take a look at your mirror (the side that faces the windshield) and you'll see where the power plugs in and where the prongs from the invisicord plug in. Take a look at their website and it should be there too. I have no connection with this company, but I was so thrilled to find something so easy, that I feel have to spread the word. I went through the hardwire BS with my TT, running the wire, the A-pillar mouldings, getting it down through the dashboard to find some power, all that crap. This is so easy, even a caveman could do it.
Simba91102 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:00 AM   #10
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I looked the website, it is very simple installation. however you need to know which is ground, which is power by using eletrometers. do you know which is which? Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simba91102 View Post
As I said earlier, there's no need to fool around the fuse box or running any wires. The invisicord (which comes in two sizes I think, like 8" or 12", something like that) comes with a modular connection on one end (like the one that plugs into a phone jack and is the connection on every decent radar detector that I know of these days) and the other end has a silver prong on each wire that plugs into the power plug for the mirror. This of course assumes that you'll mount the detector in the most logical place, next to the rear view mirror. Take a look at your mirror (the side that faces the windshield) and you'll see where the power plugs in and where the prongs from the invisicord plug in. Take a look at their website and it should be there too. I have no connection with this company, but I was so thrilled to find something so easy, that I feel have to spread the word. I went through the hardwire BS with my TT, running the wire, the A-pillar mouldings, getting it down through the dashboard to find some power, all that crap. This is so easy, even a caveman could do it.
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 6:24 PM   #11
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,735
Thanks: 0
Thanked 145 Times in 126 Posts
Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Activity: 2.4%
Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclion View Post
I looked the website, it is very simple installation. however you need to know which is ground, which is power by using eletrometers. do you know which is which? Thanks
The instructions I recieved with the cord told me which wires (color) to attach the cord to.
Simba91102 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 9:32 PM   #12
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
do you mind telling me which color is ground?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simba91102 View Post
The instructions I recieved with the cord told me which wires (color) to attach the cord to.
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 5:54 PM   #13
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,735
Thanks: 0
Thanked 145 Times in 126 Posts
Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64 Points: 9,348, Level: 64
Activity: 2.4%
Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4% Activity: 2.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclion View Post
do you mind telling me which color is ground?
There are two wires with two prongs coming from the invisicord (a black one and a yellow one). The black prong is I assume the ground and plugs into the wire going to the mirror plug with the white stripe (there are two wires on the plug too).
Simba91102 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 10:38 PM   #14
maclion
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
maclion's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50 Points: 6,023, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks dude! help me alot!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simba91102 View Post
There are two wires with two prongs coming from the invisicord (a black one and a yellow one). The black prong is I assume the ground and plugs into the wire going to the mirror plug with the white stripe (there are two wires on the plug too).
maclion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 10:38 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2007, accord, acura, acurazine, add, circuit, detector, fuse, hard, hardwire, hardwiring, honda, install, mdx, radar, tsx, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup