Handsfree Link Booting Up? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Audio, Bluetooth, Electronics & Navigation
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
Vettezilla
Registered Member
1994 Chevrolet Corvette
My Garage
 
Vettezilla's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcester
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Handsfree Link Booting Up?

I have a 2005 Acura TL non Navi and I just recently went to link my new phone up with the HFL in my car and it gave me the "Hands Free Link Booting Up" message on my Driver Information Center. I have also noticed the buttons for the HFL on the Wheel are INOP as well. What would cause this and what is the proper steps I need to take to fix it.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
__________________
12 TL Tech Package 6 spd auto: Stock daily driver
12 TSX Premium Package 5 spd auto Stock wifes daily driver
94 Corvette Coupe 6-spd: light bolt-ons
Best 1/4:13.665 @ 103.97 mph Best 60': 1.996
Vettezilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:26 AM   #2
Will Y.
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 12,605
Thanks: 27
Thanked 337 Times in 290 Posts
Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Activity: 18.0%
Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0%
Turn off the ignition and don't restart the car for 10 minutes -- then see if the error clears when you restart.
My HFL had the "booting up" error occur several times over a couple of years, but it would clear up on the next ignition cycle. It hasn't happened on my TL for the last couple of years.
__________________
Another SSM '05 TL 5AT w/Navi
Stuck in traffic somewhere in SoCal...
Will Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:48 AM   #3
Vettezilla
Registered Member
1994 Chevrolet Corvette
My Garage
 
Vettezilla's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcester
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Y. View Post
Turn off the ignition and don't restart the car for 10 minutes -- then see if the error clears when you restart.
My HFL had the "booting up" error occur several times over a couple of years, but it would clear up on the next ignition cycle. It hasn't happened on my TL for the last couple of years.

I have tried that and tried un plugging the (-) battery terminal for 15 mins and that didnt do it either
__________________
12 TL Tech Package 6 spd auto: Stock daily driver
12 TSX Premium Package 5 spd auto Stock wifes daily driver
94 Corvette Coupe 6-spd: light bolt-ons
Best 1/4:13.665 @ 103.97 mph Best 60': 1.996
Vettezilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:57 PM   #4
Will Y.
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 12,605
Thanks: 27
Thanked 337 Times in 290 Posts
Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Activity: 18.0%
Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0%
First time it happened on my TL (in first 6 mos of ownership ), it didn't clear until the next day. After that, each "booting up" episode cleared within a few minutes of shutdown, and stopped altogether in the last couple of years.

If it doesn't clear overnight, you may be looking at an HFL replacement.
__________________
Another SSM '05 TL 5AT w/Navi
Stuck in traffic somewhere in SoCal...
Will Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 4:50 PM   #5
sr1sws
Over Caffeinated
Garage is empty, add now
 
sr1sws's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 58
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
On my '06 TL (bought used) it was "permanent". I finally got an '04 HFL module off eBay and replaced the bad one. Works fine now.

Good luck!
__________________
2006 TL in Anthracite Metallic/Ebony/Navi/5AT
35% tint - DIY Grounding Kit
Intake Resonator Removed
Navi "Bypass OK" Hack
Hardwired Escort 8500 x50 with DIY Invisicord
sr1sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 5:20 PM   #6
Vettezilla
Registered Member
1994 Chevrolet Corvette
My Garage
 
Vettezilla's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcester
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr1sws View Post
On my '06 TL (bought used) it was "permanent". I finally got an '04 HFL module off eBay and replaced the bad one. Works fine now.

Good luck!
where is the HFL module located and how much are they and how much of a PITA is it to install
__________________
12 TL Tech Package 6 spd auto: Stock daily driver
12 TSX Premium Package 5 spd auto Stock wifes daily driver
94 Corvette Coupe 6-spd: light bolt-ons
Best 1/4:13.665 @ 103.97 mph Best 60': 1.996
Vettezilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 6:14 PM   #7
sr1sws
Over Caffeinated
Garage is empty, add now
 
sr1sws's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 58
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vettezilla View Post
where is the HFL module located and how much are they and how much of a PITA is it to install
The HFL module lives in the overhead console... houses the sun roof switch, map lights, home link, etc. It's very easy to replace. Use a feeler gauge to pop the sun roof switch out (insert on the side of switch to rear of car to release latch). Disco the switch from the wiring. Put your finger in the hole and pop out the map light module... just pull straight down and disco the wiring harness.

Next remove (4) 8mm bolts and remove the final part of the housing. The HFL module is where the final wiring harness attaches - two circuit cards covered by a black 'shroud'.

Purchase price of a new module is about $400. I got mine off eBay for $65 with shipping.

Disclaimer: I suppose it's possible problems other than with the HFL could cause the "booting" message in the MID. The dealer told me mine was bad, so I was fairly confident.

One other thing to try: pull fuses #7 and #10 from the interior fuse box for maybe 10 or 15 seconds. One of these affects the HFL (don't know which) and may correct your problem. I believe that the HFL remains powered up even with the car turned off. I concluded that by noting that when there's condensation on the windshield, the area over the HFL module is dry.

Good luck!
Steve
__________________
2006 TL in Anthracite Metallic/Ebony/Navi/5AT
35% tint - DIY Grounding Kit
Intake Resonator Removed
Navi "Bypass OK" Hack
Hardwired Escort 8500 x50 with DIY Invisicord
sr1sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 4:43 PM   #8
Vettezilla
Registered Member
1994 Chevrolet Corvette
My Garage
 
Vettezilla's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Worcester
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51 Points: 6,307, Level: 51
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr1sws View Post

One other thing to try: pull fuses #7 and #10 from the interior fuse box for maybe 10 or 15 seconds. One of these affects the HFL (don't know which) and may correct your problem. I believe that the HFL remains powered up even with the car turned off. I concluded that by noting that when there's condensation on the windshield, the area over the HFL module is dry.

Good luck!
Steve
You said to pull Fuses #7 and #10, what are they labeled as so I can just pull them and see what happens... I had the thing come on and work the other day then it started the booting up thing again.
__________________
12 TL Tech Package 6 spd auto: Stock daily driver
12 TSX Premium Package 5 spd auto Stock wifes daily driver
94 Corvette Coupe 6-spd: light bolt-ons
Best 1/4:13.665 @ 103.97 mph Best 60': 1.996
Vettezilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 7:23 PM   #9
sr1sws
Over Caffeinated
Garage is empty, add now
 
sr1sws's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 58
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46 Points: 5,333, Level: 46
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vettezilla View Post
You said to pull Fuses #7 and #10, what are they labeled as so I can just pull them and see what happens... I had the thing come on and work the other day then it started the booting up thing again.
I don't recall what they are labeled... look on the inside of the fuse door/cover and it will say. I *think* #7 is labeled "backup".

Steve
__________________
2006 TL in Anthracite Metallic/Ebony/Navi/5AT
35% tint - DIY Grounding Kit
Intake Resonator Removed
Navi "Bypass OK" Hack
Hardwired Escort 8500 x50 with DIY Invisicord
sr1sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 10:43 PM   #10
handy911
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Age: 33
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,717, Level: 43
Points: 4,717, Level: 43 Points: 4,717, Level: 43 Points: 4,717, Level: 43
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Booting Up error on HFL - should I disconnect the battery? how about radio code?

If you have any more updates on this "Booting Up" error on HFL, please let me know.

The HFL buttons don't work. Holding the buttons doesn't do anything. I waited a day, when it suddenly started working again. Then, a couple hours later, the same problem reappeared, booting up error. So weird, isn't it?

My thoughts:
I have 2 phones paired on it. The second phone was never left alone in the car without the main phone in there as well. I realized that the night before it happened, I left the second phone there alone. I didn't see if it got connected to the HFL system. Somehow, I think this may have caused the system to crash.
Hopefully, it will work tomorrow morning, then I will reset the system, and just pair one phone.

Questions:
If that doesn't work, I'm planning to disconnect the battery, but I don't know what my radio code is. Bringing it to the dealer to find the code will easily cost $100 at least. I tried pressing 1 and 6 preset buttons to find the serial number, but nothing came up. Anyone know how to get the radio code?
I checked the glove compartment, and every possible hidden places in the car, but none is there.
handy911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 1:55 PM   #11
dawgsten
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dawgsten's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 24
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dawgsten
Points: 908, Level: 16
Points: 908, Level: 16 Points: 908, Level: 16 Points: 908, Level: 16
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Turn the radio off, then you need to press 1 and 6 and at the same time, press the power button. Then it will show you the serial number.
dawgsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 10:23 PM   #12
Mopos
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado
Age: 41
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Has one one figured out what the issue is the HFL - is there away to "fix" it, or just replace it?
Mopos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 8:31 AM   #13
Njorosh
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have my 2006 TL HFL locked and i don’t have the 4 digit pin, and can't get the garage door to program which i have the rolling code. I have tried to reset unplug fuse, battery nothing. Does anyone know if HFL and Home link use the same module and if there located together at the top consol?
Njorosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 12:08 PM   #14
Gerosolina
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,843, Level: 44
Points: 4,843, Level: 44 Points: 4,843, Level: 44 Points: 4,843, Level: 44
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
I pulled the interior fuses number 6, 7 i think 6 is the interior lights fuse and I read some where that this one is linked to the HFL module. After i fulled the fuses and put them back in. Everything is working fine again.
Gerosolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 9:29 AM   #15
tl_cody
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 25
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cody Henshaw CGH42689
Points: 1,801, Level: 25
Points: 1,801, Level: 25 Points: 1,801, Level: 25 Points: 1,801, Level: 25
Activity: 2.2%
Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Njorosh View Post
I have my 2006 TL HFL locked and i donít have the 4 digit pin, and can't get the garage door to program which i have the rolling code. I have tried to reset unplug fuse, battery nothing. Does anyone know if HFL and Home link use the same module and if there located together at the top consol?
It doesn't seem as though they do... My HFL just displays 'booting up" , but I've been able to use the garage door opener for 2 garages just fine.
tl_cody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:26 PM   #16
EML44
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DB, Cali
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am having the same problem with my HFL. My phone was working fine until one day it just stopped. Now it says "booting" and the talk buttons do not work. It has been doing this for a couple weeks now. Should I look into getting this replaced?
EML44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 6:28 AM   #17
cjj2d
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 33
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 4,110, Level: 40
Points: 4,110, Level: 40 Points: 4,110, Level: 40 Points: 4,110, Level: 40
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I too am having same issue. going to try the fuse pull here in a few minutes, will let everyone know if that works.
cjj2d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 11:32 AM   #18
U3A6
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 2,833, Level: 32
Points: 2,833, Level: 32 Points: 2,833, Level: 32 Points: 2,833, Level: 32
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
When HFL stops responding to the switches-something is wrong with it. Had the same symptoms with my 06. Did all the recommended checks (fuses/battery/reset) recommended by members. Problem is there is not alot you can do-when the switches on the steering wheel do not work. I had mine replaced-and it is expensive when out of warranty.

Check out the thread from mmclendon in this forum-this member was able to diagnose and fix his broken module (even posted pictures of what the HFL looks like taken apart-and what he did to fix it-bad capacitor in the power up circuit).
U3A6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 10:18 AM   #19
techguy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
techguy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 8,430, Level: 61
Points: 8,430, Level: 61 Points: 8,430, Level: 61 Points: 8,430, Level: 61
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
same problem here. It just says Booting up. It stopped working when my battery died and got replaced (by me). Radio is working fine after I entered the code (check sticker in the side of the glove compartment) and the garage opener still remembers the code. Mine is a 2004 TL.
techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 6:01 PM   #20
techguy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
techguy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 8,430, Level: 61
Points: 8,430, Level: 61 Points: 8,430, Level: 61 Points: 8,430, Level: 61
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
Quote:
Originally Posted by techguy View Post
same problem here. It just says Booting up. It stopped working when my battery died and got replaced (by me). Radio is working fine after I entered the code (check sticker in the side of the glove compartment) and the garage opener still remembers the code. Mine is a 2004 TL.
Update. Removed both fuses mentioned and it is working now.
techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 6:32 PM   #21
bukjoe15
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
bukjoe15's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC to Atlanta, GA
Age: 28
Posts: 642
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Points: 7,218, Level: 56
Points: 7,218, Level: 56 Points: 7,218, Level: 56 Points: 7,218, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Mine also does not work. I notice that my rear view mirrow (auto option button) does not work either. Maybe when I got my windshield replaced. They might had for got to plug it in or damaged it.
bukjoe15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 8:50 AM   #22
Status45
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Status45's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 33
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,978, Level: 50
Points: 5,978, Level: 50 Points: 5,978, Level: 50 Points: 5,978, Level: 50
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
This just happened to me too, I tried reseating all the fuses still does not work. Dealer wanted 1st born just to look at it. I'll go with replacing it off eBay thanks guys.
Status45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 1:08 PM   #23
jkuhn76
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jkuhn76's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kuhnjon STL Cards Rule Jkuhn76
Points: 893, Level: 15
Points: 893, Level: 15 Points: 893, Level: 15 Points: 893, Level: 15
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
2007 TL-S here and mine is stuck at booting up as well. Went out of town for 4 days and came back to a dead battery. Oddly the garage door openers do work.

To no avail, I just pulled fuses 6,7 and 10. This did not fix the problem.

Anyone have any other suggestions?
jkuhn76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 7:13 PM   #24
Will Y.
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 12,605
Thanks: 27
Thanked 337 Times in 290 Posts
Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84 Points: 17,442, Level: 84
Activity: 18.0%
Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0% Activity: 18.0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkuhn76 View Post
2007 TL-S here and mine is stuck at booting up as well.
Anyone have any other suggestions?
Pull the HFL and unplug it-- may take 10 minutes the first time.
See posts 219-221 in this thread: http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=792642.
Member Adoniram has a video of HFL removal at: http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=900427.

Remove the HFL circuit board and bake it in the oven for 9 minutes @ 385*F, then replace it and reinstall the HFL to see if the problem is resolved.
See http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showt...792642&page=10 for more info.

If not, replace the HFL for @$180.
If you don't replace the HFL, you lose Bluetooth and Voice commands.
__________________
Another SSM '05 TL 5AT w/Navi
Stuck in traffic somewhere in SoCal...
Will Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Will Y. For This Useful Post:
vlad335 (01-03-2014)
Old 01-03-2014, 1:34 PM   #25
vlad335
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Latrobe, Pa
Age: 48
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,682, Level: 31
Points: 2,682, Level: 31 Points: 2,682, Level: 31 Points: 2,682, Level: 31
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
We Have been going through hell the past year with dead batteries! Wife's car was completely unreliable.
Disconnected the HFL as per this thread and the linked Youtube instructions and problem solved! I wished I would have googled this a long time ago.

I feel terrible about something as well. Not long after this problem started, i had a couple amps installed in the TL. I was certain it was something the shop did and read them the riot act. Considered even taking them to court. Now I have to call them and apologize.

This should be a recall!
vlad335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 3:50 PM   #26
alexdolgin
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 64
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,854, Level: 49
Points: 5,854, Level: 49 Points: 5,854, Level: 49 Points: 5,854, Level: 49
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Y. View Post
Pull the HFL and unplug it-- may take 10 minutes the first time.
See posts 219-221 in this thread: http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=792642.
Member Adoniram has a video of HFL removal at: http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=900427.

Remove the HFL circuit board and bake it in the oven for 9 minutes @ 385*F, then replace it and reinstall the HFL to see if the problem is resolved.
See http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showt...792642&page=10 for more info.

If not, replace the HFL for @$180.
If you don't replace the HFL, you lose Bluetooth and Voice commands.
+1 TL '07 "booting up" message - baked in the oven as mentioned above for 9 min, and it works normally now, hopefully for a while :-)
alexdolgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 12:02 AM   #27
tta
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 182, Level: 3
Points: 182, Level: 3 Points: 182, Level: 3 Points: 182, Level: 3
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
I fixed mine with a $1 capacitor (220uF 35V) from RS. Mine also had the "booting up" message earlier. There is a thread about this fix in this forum. I have a 06 TL base.
tta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 9:56 PM   #28
vakero
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 568, Level: 11
Points: 568, Level: 11 Points: 568, Level: 11 Points: 568, Level: 11
Activity: 1.1%
Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1%
I have one for sale in good condition..you guys can text me here 862-249-5693
vakero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 11:24 AM   #29
quantum7
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
quantum7's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 51
Posts: 55
Thanks: 23
Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 5,289, Level: 46
Points: 5,289, Level: 46 Points: 5,289, Level: 46 Points: 5,289, Level: 46
Activity: 8.8%
Activity: 8.8% Activity: 8.8% Activity: 8.8%
Any updates from those who have had this issue.....have the "baking" repairs worked long term?
quantum7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 6:28 AM   #30
alexdolgin
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 64
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,854, Level: 49
Points: 5,854, Level: 49 Points: 5,854, Level: 49 Points: 5,854, Level: 49
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum7 View Post
Any updates from those who have had this issue.....have the "baking" repairs worked long term?
Worked well ... for about 1 week :-(
alexdolgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 7:25 AM   #31
quantum7
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
quantum7's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 51
Posts: 55
Thanks: 23
Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 5,289, Level: 46
Points: 5,289, Level: 46 Points: 5,289, Level: 46 Points: 5,289, Level: 46
Activity: 8.8%
Activity: 8.8% Activity: 8.8% Activity: 8.8%
thats what I was afraid of. I took mine all apart and reseated and checked all connections. Seems to be working again, but I am not holding out much hope for a long term fix. Figure it is just a matter of time before I have to replace the unit. Found online for much cheaper than dealer.
quantum7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 7:25 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2005, 2006, acura, bluetooth, booting, handsfree, handsfreelink, hfl, issue, problems, replacement, stopped, stuck, tl, up, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup