Cruise control not working?? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2009, 11:11 AM   #1
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Cruise control not working??

Ealier this week, my cruise control stopped working when I tried using it. When I press the button, it illuminates on the gauge cluster. But when I try setting it, nothing happens.

Any ideas?
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:14 AM   #2
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Had any work done on your car recently? Do your brake lights work?
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:18 AM   #3
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
ummm I did the accord fog light mod Tuesday. But it stopped working Monday

I have to check if my brake lights are working or not
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:20 AM   #4
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
I forgot I swapped out my base tails for type s tails Sunday. But that's pretty much plug and play
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:25 AM   #5
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Basically the light on the dash tells you the system is ready. Its the input from the "set" switch that activates it. The brake light circuit plays a role though which is why I ask.
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:27 AM   #6
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
ok, so what do I need to do? check my fuses?
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:48 AM   #7
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
If the brake lights dont work its a good place to start. Still gathering info.
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:05 PM   #8
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
ok, I just checked my brake lights and looks like there all working.

Any other ideas?
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:34 PM   #9
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Any work performed on the car other than what you did?
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 3:03 PM   #10
Fulani has a TL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Fulani has a TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,063
Thanks: 1
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
Points: 9,716, Level: 66
Points: 9,716, Level: 66 Points: 9,716, Level: 66 Points: 9,716, Level: 66
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I remember I had a similar problem when I installed gas and brake pedals from SuperComputers. My cruise would set, and then would randomly disengage. It took a few days and then it stopped doing that. Possible some pressure being applied to the gas pedal?
Fulani has a TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 3:20 PM   #11
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fulani has a TL View Post
I remember I had a similar problem when I installed gas and brake pedals from SuperComputers. My cruise would set, and then would randomly disengage. It took a few days and then it stopped doing that. Possible some pressure being applied to the gas pedal?
Totally understandable. The cruise will not turn on/disengage if it detects the slightest ON signal from the brake switch. The weight of the brake pedal was probably pulling it down the slightest bit which would prevent the cc from setting or causing it to cancel. Good post by the way. Just made me realize I should have suggested to the OP to adjust his brake switch. So there. Do that.
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:17 PM   #12
CHiNaMaN440
04 "NBP TL" 6mt
2004 Acura TL
 
CHiNaMaN440's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
I did, nothing

any other ideas on what it could be?
CHiNaMaN440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 7:52 AM   #13
RACINGHART03
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
RACINGHART03's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SOMEWHERE IN NJ
Age: 39
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63 Points: 8,821, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Yes try and adjusting your brake pedal switch. Its an easy DIY.
__________________
2008 Tl Type S Auto, All bottle no throttle! Zex wet set up, Richie V6 from heads to Comptech Cat back, Big bore T/B w/ported and polished intake, Injen CAI = 308WHP/265TQ... R.I.P TL. Needed a truck. Now I am driving a 2010 Advanced MDX. Black on black. Boring...but functional...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCiNiYrI8GY
RACINGHART03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 5:45 AM   #14
gatrhumpy
Chapter Leader
(Northeast Florida)
2008 Acura TL Type S
 
gatrhumpy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 34
Posts: 25,832
Thanks: 212
Thanked 317 Times in 222 Posts
I have an Accord, but the same problem still applies.

I have a slightly different problem. The Cruise Control light is on, telling me the system is armed and ready to be set. Whenever I press the set button, nothing happens. The "Cruise" does not come on, the cruise control does not set, etc. The brake lights all come on, and the fuses are all OK.

I don't understand what happened. It just went out. I have done no work to my car in a long time.
__________________
I'm an engeneer. Damn!
I'm an enginere. Shit!
I'm an engenere. Crap!
I'm good with math.
gatrhumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:23 AM   #15
zsameer
Registered Member
2005 ACURA TL
 
zsameer's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 329
Thanks: 20
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Points: 5,419, Level: 47
Points: 5,419, Level: 47 Points: 5,419, Level: 47 Points: 5,419, Level: 47
Activity: 9.6%
Activity: 9.6% Activity: 9.6% Activity: 9.6%
Maye be you crimped your led unit wires while running them through the housing. might want to check since i had a cruise problem caused by that.


http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=733926
zsameer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 12:04 PM   #16
gatrhumpy
Chapter Leader
(Northeast Florida)
2008 Acura TL Type S
 
gatrhumpy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 34
Posts: 25,832
Thanks: 212
Thanked 317 Times in 222 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsameer View Post
Maye be you crimped your led unit wires while running them through the housing. might want to check since i had a cruise problem caused by that.


http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=733926
????

BTW, my cruise decided to bless me by working again. That was weird...
__________________
I'm an engeneer. Damn!
I'm an enginere. Shit!
I'm an engenere. Crap!
I'm good with math.
gatrhumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 10:12 AM   #17
Parcus
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 44
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I cannot get my cruise control master switch to engage. When I press it and hold it in it works perfect, but the second I let go it turns off. Is there an easy way to replace this switch. The dealer is telling me it will cost over $240 labor because of the airbag.
Parcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 11:58 AM   #18
nfnsquared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
nfnsquared's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 5,431
Thanks: 9
Thanked 340 Times in 266 Posts
Points: 14,352, Level: 77
Points: 14,352, Level: 77 Points: 14,352, Level: 77 Points: 14,352, Level: 77
Activity: 27.2%
Activity: 27.2% Activity: 27.2% Activity: 27.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parcus View Post
I cannot get my cruise control master switch to engage. When I press it and hold it in it works perfect, but the second I let go it turns off. Is there an easy way to replace this switch. The dealer is telling me it will cost over $240 labor because of the airbag.
It's probably a bad switch. It's been known to fail.

You can do it yourself, but you'll need a Torx T30 bit and a 3/8" driver/ratchet. Look in the 3G Service Department under "lighting". There are scans on how to remove the airbag. Basically, it's just two Torx T30 screws, but they can be tough to remove if you don't use the appropriate sized ratchet because they are held in with Loctite. That's the reason you need a 3/8" driver/ratchet. Don't use a 1/4" ratchet.

If you're the least bit mechanically inclined, don't pay the dealer to do this...the switch only costs about $55. Contact Kaleb at Prestige Acura (use the Vendor link at the top of the page) to order the part.

Edit: Here's a couple of links:

http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606220

http://tl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=763962
__________________
04 6MT, Navi, WDP, chrome wheels, Clifford Matrix 50.7X RS/Alarm, Huper Optik ceramic tints

Last edited by nfnsquared; 10-13-2010 at 12:12 PM.
nfnsquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 11:58 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2009, accord, acura, adjust, brake, control, cruise, disengages, honda, light, problem, randomly, stopped, tl, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup