Cel p1710 - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2009, 7:20 PM   #1
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cel p1710

My check engine light came on.Code p1710. Anyone know what this is? Thanks for your help.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 7:27 PM   #2
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,760
Thanks: 590
Thanked 1,904 Times in 1,388 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,660, Level: 100
Points: 98,660, Level: 100 Points: 98,660, Level: 100 Points: 98,660, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5%
I dont see a 1710 in the manual but any thing 1700+ is trans related. DO you still fall under the trans warranty?
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 7:33 PM   #3
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
i just bought this car used so i dont think i have any warranty. I saw transaxle when searching the code so you are right that it is trans related.
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 7:46 PM   #4
newperson
There's no Acura in
2002 Acura TL
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What year is your car & how many miles?
newperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 8:13 PM   #5
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
2003 with 160XXX miles
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 1:29 AM   #6
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,760
Thanks: 590
Thanked 1,904 Times in 1,388 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,660, Level: 100
Points: 98,660, Level: 100 Points: 98,660, Level: 100 Points: 98,660, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5%
Being a 2003 your probably not in the covered vin range, and with the miles your out side it. Odds are you have a trans failure coming up. Do you notice any harshness going into gear or any minute slippage between shifts (most noticeably the 2 to 3 shift)
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 7:55 AM   #7
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
no harshnass or slipage.Everything feels smooth right now but I will pay close attention to 2 and 3 shift. I still have to find out the exact problem for code p1710 so I can fix this before any trans failure.
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:17 AM   #8
FISHYTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FISHYTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
p1710 is a problem in 1st-hold Switch Circuit on the transmission gear selector
FISHYTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 4:53 PM   #9
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Quote:
Originally Posted by FISHYTL View Post
p1710 is a problem in 1st-hold Switch Circuit on the transmission gear selector
does that mean i just needto replace that switch?thx
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 12:38 AM   #10
FISHYTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FISHYTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
here are the instructions to properly diagnose the code.

http://uploading.com/files/85SD40HY/1710.pdf.html

I hope that helps. How come we cant upload files to acurazine?
FISHYTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 6:15 PM   #11
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Thanks
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:24 PM   #12
FISHYTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FISHYTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57 Points: 7,454, Level: 57
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I just looked over the pdf again and part of step 6 got left out. Here is the rest of it.

YES - Repair open in the wire between PCM connector terminal E14 and the 1st-hold switch.

NO - Go to step 7.
FISHYTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 6:15 PM   #13
veo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
thx
veo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 6:15 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1st, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2005, acura, code, error, fix, hold, mdx, p1710, problem, switch, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup