Trunk button not working - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2008, 4:07 PM   #1
spoiledkari
Boring Teacher
Garage is empty, add now
 
spoiledkari's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uniontown, PA
Age: 34
Posts: 185
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Trunk button not working

Now that it's been really, really cold here in PA, my trunk button stopped working. I either have to use the button on the keyfob or use the latch on the floor beside the driver's seat. Once the weather warms up, the button works again. Anyone have any suggestions? I really don't want to go all the way to the dealership since it's over an hour away...and they'll probably have to order a part and I'll have to go back.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
__________________
2006 Acura TSX Non-Navi Premium White Pearl- 6MT
17" A Spec wheels
A Spec spoiler
20% Johnsons window tint
Black painted calipers with Acura decals
Blue footwell LED's
spoiledkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 4:40 PM   #2
LuvMyTSX
Moderator
2011 Acura RDX
 
LuvMyTSX's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 14,600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Activity: 1.9%
Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9%
I had a problem with mine earlier this year. Turned out to be a short.
LuvMyTSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 5:25 PM   #3
tsx 2 nv
ridiculously good looking
Garage is empty, add now
 
tsx 2 nv's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stanton, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,575, Level: 58
Points: 7,575, Level: 58 Points: 7,575, Level: 58 Points: 7,575, Level: 58
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
did you check the switch in the glovebox?? if you have no idea what i'm talking about, search for "glovebox trunk"
__________________
- 2004 TSX 6 SPEED NAVI -
tsx 2 nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 5:32 PM   #4
tsx 2 nv
ridiculously good looking
Garage is empty, add now
 
tsx 2 nv's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stanton, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,575, Level: 58
Points: 7,575, Level: 58 Points: 7,575, Level: 58 Points: 7,575, Level: 58
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
err. the search may not work... here:

The trunk override switch is in the upper left hand corner of the glovebox (when you open it).
__________________
- 2004 TSX 6 SPEED NAVI -
tsx 2 nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 9:31 PM   #5
spoiledkari
Boring Teacher
Garage is empty, add now
 
spoiledkari's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uniontown, PA
Age: 34
Posts: 185
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvMyTSX View Post
I had a problem with mine earlier this year. Turned out to be a short.
Did they have to replace the switch? Or were they able to fix it some other way?
__________________
2006 Acura TSX Non-Navi Premium White Pearl- 6MT
17" A Spec wheels
A Spec spoiler
20% Johnsons window tint
Black painted calipers with Acura decals
Blue footwell LED's

Last edited by spoiledkari; 11-25-2008 at 9:34 PM.
spoiledkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 9:33 PM   #6
spoiledkari
Boring Teacher
Garage is empty, add now
 
spoiledkari's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uniontown, PA
Age: 34
Posts: 185
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Threadstarter
Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50 Points: 6,000, Level: 50
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsx 2 nv View Post
err. the search may not work... here:

The trunk override switch is in the upper left hand corner of the glovebox (when you open it).
Yeah, I actually checked that first. This problem comes and goes and it seems to be weather related.

Thanks for the suggestion!
__________________
2006 Acura TSX Non-Navi Premium White Pearl- 6MT
17" A Spec wheels
A Spec spoiler
20% Johnsons window tint
Black painted calipers with Acura decals
Blue footwell LED's
spoiledkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 2:44 AM   #7
s001y
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
s001y's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoiledkari View Post
Yeah, I actually checked that first. This problem comes and goes and it seems to be weather related.

Thanks for the suggestion!
If at all weather related, try the following :

Take out the switch and see if there is any residue of oil etc and wipe it off. Could also use a hairdryer and blow hot air and wipe off. Check the contacts as when cold, some oils form a film when hardened.

Or else doe not work, get a replacement switch to be send to you by post... 1hr drive for a faulty switch ain't worth it...
__________________
CL7 Euro R
JDM spec i-VTEC, DOHC
s001y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 7:42 AM   #8
LuvMyTSX
Moderator
2011 Acura RDX
 
LuvMyTSX's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 14,600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Activity: 1.9%
Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoiledkari View Post
Did they have to replace the switch? Or were they able to fix it some other way?
I'll have to find the invoice when I get home. At least it was covered under warranty and didn't cost me anything.
LuvMyTSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 7:42 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
06, 2007, acura, acurazine, broken, button, opening, problem, rsx, stopped, tl, trunck, trunk, tsx, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup