Trunk Latch not responding to button - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2008, 11:21 AM   #1
CJ Majesty
Royal Finest
Garage is empty, add now
 
CJ Majesty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawn Giland - New York
Age: 36
Posts: 664
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Activity: 3.5%
Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5%
Trunk Latch not responding to button

Went outside to wash the car this morning, Unlocked all doors and trunk with the key Fob. I go around to the back of the car. Press the button over the license plate....Nothing. I figured the car was locked,...I unlocked it again, Pressed the button.... nothing. I pulled the cable next to the drivers seat it opens. (of course) Then I pressed the Trunk button on the key fob it opens.

WTF.

So I break out the helms manual and do a test with my volt meter. It was hot. So now im like WTF. Why would it respond to the key fob & not the button over the license plate. Called smithtown Acura a replacement trunk switch is 71 Dollars. But something tells me the switch is not the problem.

Anybody got any advice?
CJ
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
__________________
"...I can walk on water..........spit fire.......& SHIT ICE CREAM!!!!!"
2004 Black on Black TSX 6spd Nav
Mods: NUN A YA GOT DAM BIDNISS!!!!
Newest mod: Felatio Package!!!
CJ Majesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:50 AM   #2
buste2
who dat lil kid?
Garage is empty, add now
 
buste2's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,603, Level: 53
Points: 6,603, Level: 53 Points: 6,603, Level: 53 Points: 6,603, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
check your glove box to see if the switch hasn't been flipped?
buste2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 12:31 PM   #3
CJ Majesty
Royal Finest
Garage is empty, add now
 
CJ Majesty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawn Giland - New York
Age: 36
Posts: 664
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Activity: 3.5%
Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5%
**Update***


The trunk has worked twice since this thread was started.

Only when I am washing my car.

The latch its functional, because I can still pop the trunk from the key fob

When I unlock the doors the trunk does not unlock.

Im thinking that its an electrical problem and somehow the water is completing the circuit somewhere.

I could be wrong..... but right now this is a problem that stops me from talkin shit to my friend that drives a Volkswagen...with all the electrical problems he has.
Until this is fixed Serinity's new name is (Farfig"Mugen").
__________________
"...I can walk on water..........spit fire.......& SHIT ICE CREAM!!!!!"
2004 Black on Black TSX 6spd Nav
Mods: NUN A YA GOT DAM BIDNISS!!!!
Newest mod: Felatio Package!!!
CJ Majesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 2:47 PM   #4
LuvMyTSX
Moderator
2011 Acura RDX
 
LuvMyTSX's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 14,600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90 Points: 20,353, Level: 90
Activity: 1.9%
Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9% Activity: 1.9%
I had this problem a few months ago. It was a short in the wire in the trunk. It was replaced under warranty for me.
LuvMyTSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 2:52 PM   #5
EuroR08
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
EuroR08's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Age: 27
Posts: 697
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,883, Level: 49
Points: 5,883, Level: 49 Points: 5,883, Level: 49 Points: 5,883, Level: 49
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by buste2
check your glove box to see if the switch hasn't been flipped?
did you check this??
EuroR08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 3:46 PM   #6
LukeaTron
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
My front passenger door lock actuator needs to be replaced as it doesn't unlock the door all the way. I've noticed that unless all the locks are pulled all the way up, the trunk won't open with the button. Just one more thing to look at.
LukeaTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 3:47 PM   #7
Mokos23
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Illinois
Age: 35
Posts: 10,747
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 26,614, Level: 97
Points: 26,614, Level: 97 Points: 26,614, Level: 97 Points: 26,614, Level: 97
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by buste2
check your glove box to see if the switch hasn't been flipped?
that's what i thought
Mokos23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 5:04 PM   #8
davidspalding
Make a hole, coming thru!
2006 Acura TSX
 
davidspalding's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between 70 and 125 mph
Posts: 2,917
Thanks: 16
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 11,705, Level: 71
Points: 11,705, Level: 71 Points: 11,705, Level: 71 Points: 11,705, Level: 71
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
According to the 2007 manual, the "Trunk Main Switch" (glovebox switch) specifically disables the Trunk Release Switch in the trunk lid above the license plate. DEFINITELY check that before buying replacement parts or having a service department troubleshoot it.

I had to look it up, I can never remember what that does. To protect the trunk, you have to flip that switch, then lock the glovebox, then lock the Trunk Release Lever (by teh driver's door), THEN give out only the valet key. Yeesh. Just take your Faberge eggs out of the trunk before you leave it with someone.


So, this kind of malfunction sounds like the trunk main switch has been inadvertantly flipped, or ... a fault with that circuit?
davidspalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 5:11 PM   #9
davidspalding
Make a hole, coming thru!
2006 Acura TSX
 
davidspalding's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between 70 and 125 mph
Posts: 2,917
Thanks: 16
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 11,705, Level: 71
Points: 11,705, Level: 71 Points: 11,705, Level: 71 Points: 11,705, Level: 71
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
A completely WAG, off the wall suggestion ... check the switch, and then take stuff out of your glovebox except for the OM wallet. Maybe something's hitting that switch. You might also follow the steps to replace the pollen filter (dropping the glovebox) and inspect the switch -- maybe the wiring's going bad, or something's pinching the wire at the switch connection? Again, a WAG.
davidspalding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 3:57 PM   #10
MMsTSX
JDM Addict
2008 Acura TSX
 
MMsTSX's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona Bay
Age: 37
Posts: 2,200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,652, Level: 48
Points: 5,652, Level: 48 Points: 5,652, Level: 48 Points: 5,652, Level: 48
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Please read this:

when you press the unlock button on your fob, it ONLY unlocks the driver's door.
it does NOT unlock the trunk.

when you press the unlock button on your fob TWICE, it unlocks EVERYTHING.

the trunk button will NOT work if only the driver's door is unlocked.
ALL doors must be unlocked for the trunk button to work.
MMsTSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 9:34 PM   #11
CJ Majesty
Royal Finest
Garage is empty, add now
 
CJ Majesty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawn Giland - New York
Age: 36
Posts: 664
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Activity: 3.5%
Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5%
I checked the switch in the glove box. That's not it.

Yes I think its a faulty wire in the same area that they did the brake light recall. I'm going to go over that ill rip the trunk out next week.

And yes I hit the key fob button multiple times, unlocking the drivers door then the rest of the doors.
So its not that.

I'm going to recheck the wiring job on that recall they did back in 05.
I have 80000 miles so no waranty.

The key thing that makes me think its a wiring issue is the fact that everytime I wash my car it works. And continues to work until I lock the car back.

The car is satuated with water. Also I'm rubbing the microfiber over it may slightly trigger enough static electricity stored in the panels maybe to zap the trunk open.

The lock poper is definately not broken because it works on the key fob.
Ill keep you guys posted thanks for the suggestions.I'm going to fiddle with the wires a little.
CJ Majesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 3:39 PM   #12
CJ Majesty
Royal Finest
Garage is empty, add now
 
CJ Majesty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawn Giland - New York
Age: 36
Posts: 664
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Activity: 3.5%
Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5%
I didnt do shit to the car and the trunk just started working again. I cant call it.
CJ Majesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 5:12 PM   #13
LukeaTron
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I think the idea that the wiring is shorting out is your most likely culprit. It could also be some corrosion in a connector. I would anticipate that it will quit working again at some point in the future.
LukeaTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 3:42 AM   #14
CJ Majesty
Royal Finest
Garage is empty, add now
 
CJ Majesty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawn Giland - New York
Age: 36
Posts: 664
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68 Points: 10,581, Level: 68
Activity: 3.5%
Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5% Activity: 3.5%
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeaTron
I think the idea that the wiring is shorting out is your most likely culprit. It could also be some corrosion in a connector. I would anticipate that it will quit working again at some point in the future.
Could be!!!! Although I didnt fcuk around with the trunk at all. & I did my amp install two summers ago, and everything with my system is fine. I recently changed a tail light. Other than that nothing out of the ordinary.

When I go in for the 90,000 check up ill ask if they had anybody else report a similar problem.
__________________
"...I can walk on water..........spit fire.......& SHIT ICE CREAM!!!!!"
2004 Black on Black TSX 6spd Nav
Mods: NUN A YA GOT DAM BIDNISS!!!!
Newest mod: Felatio Package!!!
CJ Majesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 1:18 PM   #15
vmesa
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Age: 66
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trunk Latch not responding to button

Folks, I just bought a used 2007 TSX and was going nuts trying to figure out why the the Trunk Release Switch didn't work as designed. A million 'Thank you"'s for your help. It was indeed the Main switch in the glove box. It would have taken me forever to discover that in the manual and maybe if Acura is listening, put a pointer to it in the section about opening the trunk.... This is my first ever append to AcuraZine.
vmesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 1:49 AM   #16
chewbacca99
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 301, Level: 6
Points: 301, Level: 6 Points: 301, Level: 6 Points: 301, Level: 6
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
2006 tsx door and trunk locks

2006 TSX Bought brand new, special ordered for me.
Key fob only unlocks driver door and trunk.
Key fob will lock all doors.
Manually inserting key in lock only locks driver's door.
Trunk button above license tag won't open trunk.
Dash lights flash on for an instant when I open door. Do not come back on until key is inserted in ignition.
Dome light on passenger side is intermittent.
Driver side seat heater hasn't worked for a couple of years, nor has the light that lights up the seat heater button.
Windows will not open with key in lock or key fob.
Checked fuses and changed battery in key fob.
Checked switch in glove box.
Called Acura, they said maybe an actuator. Take it to dealer. Just had it to dealer a couple of weeks ago for recalled hose. Went back out to car and all locks and trunk lid latch worked for the rest of day. Next morning, back to same old thing. This has been going on for a week.
Does anyone have any suggestions? All of these things happened in the same day, except the light in button for seat heater, the seat heater itself, and the passenger side dome light. Just thought I'd mention these things incase they were related and a long time coming. Thanks!
chewbacca99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 5:21 AM   #17
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 125 Posts
Points: 9,257, Level: 64
Points: 9,257, Level: 64 Points: 9,257, Level: 64 Points: 9,257, Level: 64
Activity: 2.2%
Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmesa View Post
Folks, I just bought a used 2007 TSX and was going nuts trying to figure out why the the Trunk Release Switch didn't work as designed. A million 'Thank you"'s for your help. It was indeed the Main switch in the glove box. It would have taken me forever to discover that in the manual and maybe if Acura is listening, put a pointer to it in the section about opening the trunk.... This is my first ever append to AcuraZine.
As with many queries posted here, your answers most likely reside in your glove box. If the owner's manual is read, front to back, (and I mean before there's a problem) many would be pleasantly surprised at the knowledge contained there in. RTFOM.
Simba91102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 1:06 PM   #18
nigelboyne
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 90
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 2,070, Level: 27
Points: 2,070, Level: 27 Points: 2,070, Level: 27 Points: 2,070, Level: 27
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Majesty View Post
I didnt do shit to the car and the trunk just started working again. I cant call it.
ok guys i might be able to help with this as my car is a taxi the boot gets a lot of use same thing happened to me its a broken or intermitting broken wire, mine was found on the shoulder of the boot lid or the hinge, peel of the plastic caseing and start checking the wires from memory i think it was a yellow wire, also if your rear lights start to flicker or come on and of and the bulbs are ok, same problem broken wire.
nigelboyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:19 PM   #19
AcuraSon26
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 30, Level: 1
Points: 30, Level: 1 Points: 30, Level: 1 Points: 30, Level: 1
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Same problem with mine, checked glovebox lock, driver side release, all locks work, fob works, only thing that doesn't is the button over the license plate.

Some mention on older posts of needing to replace the electric motor, supposedly a 50 cent part, or replacing the entire release assembly which appears to be 56 dollars.

Any ideas, id like to fix this problem for under a hundred bucks if possible.
AcuraSon26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 9:11 PM   #20
bluecarbonfiber
WTF?
Garage is empty, add now
 
bluecarbonfiber's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: in a wood box
Age: 37
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 104
Thanked 185 Times in 178 Posts
bluecarbonfiber bluecarbonfiber
Points: 8,835, Level: 63
Points: 8,835, Level: 63 Points: 8,835, Level: 63 Points: 8,835, Level: 63
Activity: 20.3%
Activity: 20.3% Activity: 20.3% Activity: 20.3%
anyone figure this out? just had this issue start.. checked wiring and it seems like the yellow wire is the issue. blue wire is the constant power and the black is ground. i know the glove box switch isnt the issue.. curious if anyone else had it and fixed it or know what the fix is??
__________________
RDX rear sway bar sign up
http://rdx.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=912652

The PNW Acuras club on facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/1399402250271467/
bluecarbonfiber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 3:08 PM   #21
bluecarbonfiber
WTF?
Garage is empty, add now
 
bluecarbonfiber's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: in a wood box
Age: 37
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 104
Thanked 185 Times in 178 Posts
bluecarbonfiber bluecarbonfiber
Points: 8,835, Level: 63
Points: 8,835, Level: 63 Points: 8,835, Level: 63 Points: 8,835, Level: 63
Activity: 20.3%
Activity: 20.3% Activity: 20.3% Activity: 20.3%
anyone??
__________________
RDX rear sway bar sign up
http://rdx.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=912652

The PNW Acuras club on facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/1399402250271467/
bluecarbonfiber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 3:08 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2003, 2004, 2006, acura, broke, broken, button, cl, latch, malfunction, open, rltrunk, tl, trunk, tsx, unlock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup