Check emission system light - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2008, 2:12 PM   #1
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check emission system light

Hi guys, last week the check emission system light came on in my 06 TSX with 35000 miles. Today, I took it to acura and they told me that the reason the light is on is due to my K&N cold air intake. Is this possible? What do you guys think? Thanks.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 2:39 PM   #2
curls
Someone stole "My Garage"
Garage is empty, add now
 
curls's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 34
Posts: 3,522
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Doubtful but possible.

Did they give you the code value that it's throwing? If not, check it at Autozone or many parts places like that -- they'll pull the code for free. that code will pinpoint the component (with good accuracy) that's causing the fault. Then, diagnose from there.
curls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 4:27 PM   #3
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Yes they did provide the codes which I will post later...they charged me $120 just for diagnostics since the problem is caused by an aftermarket part.
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 4:41 PM   #4
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
^^Damn, $120 just to get a code? Next time, Autozone or a friend who has an OBDII scan tool.
BTW, I have a K&N Typhoon and have been running it for 70,000miles....no codes! Is your CAI installed right?
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 5:02 PM   #5
JediMindTricks
What Would Don Draper Do?
Garage is empty, add now
 
JediMindTricks's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Age: 34
Posts: 22,247
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
i had the emission light go off once because i didn't tighten the gas cap enough.

i think the manual says that the light will go off within 3 days after the gas cap is tightened. and sure enough, it did go away on the third day.
JediMindTricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 5:15 PM   #6
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I did check the gas cap last week and it still has not gonna off. I've had my typhoon intake in for almost 2 years and no problems. Im gonna convert it to short ram this weekend and see what happens.
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 5:29 PM   #7
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Post the code when you get the chance.
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 8:19 PM   #8
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
P2a00
P1172
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:40 PM   #9
llwtsx
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
llwtsx's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 6,312, Level: 51
Points: 6,312, Level: 51 Points: 6,312, Level: 51 Points: 6,312, Level: 51
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
P0133, P1172 ('05-07 models), P1157, P2195, P2238, P2252, P2A00: Air fuel ratio (A/F) sensor (Sensor 1)

and also:

P2A00 Air/Fuel Ratio (A/F) Sensor (Sensor 1) Range/Performance Problem
llwtsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:49 PM   #10
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinodaitalian
P2a00
P1172
Looking at http://www.hondacarforum.com/honda-3...tic-codes.html , sounds like your primary O2 sensor (air/fuel ratio sensor). Other members should chime in on this to confirm. Any how, the sensor to replace is about $213 #36531-RBB-003 ; but this is an emissions defect and should be covered under emissions warranty, which you're well within.
Your K&N isn't the reason.
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 7:49 AM   #11
curls
Someone stole "My Garage"
Garage is empty, add now
 
curls's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 34
Posts: 3,522
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
If it's the primary O2 sensor, it's not a cheap part. Advice to you would be to put the stock intake back on, drive to another dealer, and get the O2 sensor replaced under warranty.

I think it's only part of the 3yr comprehensive warranty though, NOT the 8yr emissions warranty. Actually I'm quite sure of that, since I had to replace the O2 sensor on my car last year -- the manual and the dealership both stated that the sensors aren't the full 8yr warranty, only the catalytic covnerter, and other major emissions components that aren't electrical.

The labour is simple (mere minutes) but it's the part that's pricey.
curls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 9:11 AM   #12
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I asked the service associate if anything was wrong with my O2 sensors when I picked up my car and he told me they were fine...do you think he was lieing to me? They said the reason the light came on was due to too much air going into the engine.
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 9:42 AM   #13
LukeaTron
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45 Points: 5,059, Level: 45
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
... too much air going into the engine.

I suggest you whip out your junk and give that moron a nice mushroom bruise across his face.

Then take your car somewhere that the techs aren't legally retarded wards of the state.
LukeaTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 10:36 AM   #14
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
yea i might have to do that... thanks for all your help guys.
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 10:50 AM   #15
curls
Someone stole "My Garage"
Garage is empty, add now
 
curls's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 34
Posts: 3,522
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73 Points: 12,766, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeaTron
I suggest you whip out your junk and give that moron a nice mushroom bruise across his face.
LMFAO!!

And yeah that tech is a complete moron.
curls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:23 AM   #16
PACman
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,062
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68 Points: 10,625, Level: 68
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
About 1 1/2yrs ago, I had a CEL...code P04XX (can't remember exactly since it was a while back). Took it in the dealer to get it checked out, told me they couldn't find anything wrong. They said they didn't think it was my CAI, cleared the code, and told me if it happened again, to come back (no charge on this visit). I did go back, and another SA was gonna charge me $ just to read the code, so I said screw it and bought myself a scan tool.
After posting here about my problem, which BTW curls, amongst others, helped me out, it was the air/fuel ratio sensor that was the problem. Got the part and changed it out myself - 30min job. Jacking up the car and going underneath took more time than replacing the part.
More often than not, I think our forum members know more about our cars than the Acura tech.
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 9:39 PM   #17
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I disconnected my battery and the check engine light went away...if it doesn't come back on does that mean the problem isnt there? I called the dealer today and they said they were positive there was nothing wrong with my o2 sensors.
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 3:06 PM   #18
dinodaitalian
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Does anyone know if the hondata ecu update will fix my problem?
dinodaitalian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 3:06 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
09, 2008, acura, check, emission, emissions, emmission, light, mdx, p1172, rdx, rl, rsx, system, tsx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup