Handsfreelink - lock code - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TSX Community > First Generation TSX Discussion (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2007, 11:02 PM   #1
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Handsfreelink - lock code

Dear All,

Purchased a used 2006 Milano Red TSX, no NAV. Trying to setup the HFL with my Treo 700wx. The system tells me it is locked and needs a 4-digit code. Attempts to clear the system as directed by the manual have failed.

Any idea how to reset the system?

T
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 11:57 PM   #2
gt0279a
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
gt0279a's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta
Age: 37
Posts: 337
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,438, Level: 57
Points: 7,438, Level: 57 Points: 7,438, Level: 57 Points: 7,438, Level: 57
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
From what I understand, only the dealer can unlock it.
__________________
2006 CGP/Ebony TSX 6 spd NAV
2004 CGP/Quartz TSX 6 spd
2003 NBP/Parchment TL Type-S
2000 VSM/Graphite Integra GS 5sp
gt0279a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 1:24 AM   #3
Ride Slow Homey
AlwysCleanURArely c ASpec
Garage is empty, add now
 
Ride Slow Homey's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 28
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try the password of 0-0-0-0
Ride Slow Homey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 1:25 AM   #4
mltk53
I can't find my garage
Garage is empty, add now
 
mltk53's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SoCal
Age: 25
Posts: 4,766
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
or maybe u can try to radio code? lol i dunno
mltk53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 2:09 AM   #5
kjamsf
Berserker (+9)
Garage is empty, add now
 
kjamsf's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Narnia
Age: 44
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Try your ATM pin...and keep us posted
kjamsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 5:58 PM   #6
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I thought sure the ATM pin would do the trick...alas, no love. :o)

Any other thoughts?

T
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 1:48 PM   #7
lkeller
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
same problem you have

I just bought a 06 TSX and it has the same problem that you have. I called HandsFreeLink and they told me that it must be rebooted by Acura. I'll let you know if I come up with anything.
lkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 8:05 PM   #8
zooter
Owner - Operator
Garage is empty, add now
 
zooter's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Diego Area
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lock Code

Sounds pretty obvious, but did you check the manual? When I bought my TSX the dealer had a sticker or card with the Nav and radio codes and poped it in the owners manual.
zooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 10:44 PM   #9
evantec
Ev an' Tec
Garage is empty, add now
 
evantec's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northeast
Posts: 206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Squared
Dear All,

Purchased a used 2006 Milano Red TSX, no NAV. Trying to setup the HFL with my Treo 700wx. The system tells me it is locked and needs a 4-digit code. Attempts to clear the system as directed by the manual have failed.

Any idea how to reset the system?

T
The above sounds like a Bluetooth handshaking/pairing issue, not anything about security for a NAV system (which you don't have) or the radio.

When Bluetooth items are paired, one of them asks for (or sends out) a code, which the other must supply. For things like headsets (which don't have a keypad to enter a code), the code might be hard-coded to 0000. For something like a Treo, you might be prompted to enter a code into the Treo, and then speak it into the HFL (or vice-versa).

You might need to look at the Treo manual and see about setting Bluetooth so the device (treo) can be "discovered" for at least a few minutes while you do the pairing process. If possible you also don't want to do this in a public setting where other people and Bluetooth devices are in use -- i.e. at a train station, mall etc. Find an empty parking lot away from things, or go in a garage..

Also, if the Treo is currently paired to a headset, it might not be able to connect to the HFL at the same time. So you want to do this whole process when the other devices are off. (Bluetooth can go 30 ft and sometimes 300ft. If your headset were in your house, the Treo might still connect to it from the garage, so the headset really needs to be off when you pair the Treo to the HFL.)

Good luck. Check the other Treo threads if you still have questions (incl other forums - TL / RDX / MDX etc).
evantec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 11:33 PM   #10
Tsx6363
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Tsx6363's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 26
Posts: 710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,611, Level: 53
Points: 6,611, Level: 53 Points: 6,611, Level: 53 Points: 6,611, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Read The Manual!!! 0-0-0-0
Tsx6363 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 9:11 AM   #11
lkeller
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lock code

I have tried every 4 digit code in the book including 0-0-0-0 and I still can't get pass the lock code. Infact, I can't find this particular mode even in the manual. I guess the next stop will have to be the dealer.
lkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 11:48 PM   #12
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Tried lots of codes - no love

I've tried several codes to no avail. I've turned off my Treo and the ear piece and still no love. The prompt for the lock code is immediate. As soon as I press the talk button, a female voice comes on saying, "THe system is locked, please enter the four digit pass code".

T
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 2:10 AM   #13
subdued
my acura sanctuary
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,323, Level: 51
Points: 6,323, Level: 51 Points: 6,323, Level: 51 Points: 6,323, Level: 51
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Having just set up my bluetooth phone 2 days ago, I know that there is an option during HFL SETUP to use custom PIN to lock out unauthorized use (note: this is not the user selected 4-digit code used during the car/phone pairing process) So, it seems like both posters above have purchased cars where the previous owner chose to use the security PIN. Dealer RESET seems like the only next step.
subdued is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 2:12 AM   #14
subdued
my acura sanctuary
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,323, Level: 51
Points: 6,323, Level: 51 Points: 6,323, Level: 51 Points: 6,323, Level: 51
Activity: 0.6%
Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6% Activity: 0.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsx6363
Read The Manual!!! 0-0-0-0

If the user chose to create a custom PIN then 0000 would not work.
subdued is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 10:58 AM   #15
White92
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 5,632, Level: 48
Points: 5,632, Level: 48 Points: 5,632, Level: 48 Points: 5,632, Level: 48
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Did you buy it used from a dealer or private party? If it was private party, I would contact them and ask them what their code is. If it was an Acura dealer, then I would explain to them that they sold you a car that had the HFL locked by the previous owner and they need to reset it. I would push for free since they sold it to you like that.

The previous poster is right. This isn't the 4 digit code used for pairing the phones. This is an optional code that users can use to block unwanted use.
White92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 11:06 PM   #16
Stevestr
Looking at the '15 TLX
Garage is empty, add now
 
Stevestr's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denver Metro, CO
Posts: 760
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Points: 17,177, Level: 83
Points: 17,177, Level: 83 Points: 17,177, Level: 83 Points: 17,177, Level: 83
Activity: 1.1%
Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1% Activity: 1.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by evantec
The above sounds like a Bluetooth handshaking/pairing issue, not anything about security for a NAV system (which you don't have) or the radio.

When Bluetooth items are paired, one of them asks for (or sends out) a code, which the other must supply. For things like headsets (which don't have a keypad to enter a code), the code might be hard-coded to 0000. For something like a Treo, you might be prompted to enter a code into the Treo, and then speak it into the HFL (or vice-versa).

You might need to look at the Treo manual and see about setting Bluetooth so the device (treo) can be "discovered" for at least a few minutes while you do the pairing process. If possible you also don't want to do this in a public setting where other people and Bluetooth devices are in use -- i.e. at a train station, mall etc. Find an empty parking lot away from things, or go in a garage..

Also, if the Treo is currently paired to a headset, it might not be able to connect to the HFL at the same time. So you want to do this whole process when the other devices are off. (Bluetooth can go 30 ft and sometimes 300ft. If your headset were in your house, the Treo might still connect to it from the garage, so the headset really needs to be off when you pair the Treo to the HFL.)

Good luck. Check the other Treo threads if you still have questions (incl other forums - TL / RDX / MDX etc).
Evan is right. Have you done *all* of these steps as suggested by Acura?: (they come directly from the Handsfree site at Acura)
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size. PalmOne Treo 700w Verizon Pairing Instructions:Click the image to open in full size. Print | Back Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size.

  • IMPORTANT: You must press and release the HandsFreeLink talk button on the steering wheel and wait for the beep before you speak. This step is required before all spoken commands.
  • Power on the phone and ensure Bluetooth is ON. Please refer to your phone's user guide for steps to turn on Bluetooth.
  • Press and release the Talk button on the steering wheel and wait for the "beep" before you speak.+Repeat this step before all spoken commands.
  • Say "phone setup" Click the image to open in full size.
  • Say "pair"
  • Say any 4 digit PIN code for pairing. Remember it as you will need to enter it into your phone later. HandsFreeLink will now instruct you to begin the pairing process in the phone.
Click the image to open in full size.
  • On the Treo, Tap START
  • Select SETTINGS
  • Select CONNECTIONS
  • Select BLUETOOTH
  • Make sure BLUETOOTH ON
  • Make sure Dial-up Networking is OFF
  • Tap the DEVICES TAB
  • Select NEW PARTNERSHIP
  • Wait for Handsfreelink to appear
  • Treo will now search
  • Choose "HandsFreeLink TM"
  • Tap NEXT
  • Enter 4 digit PIN Code
  • Tap NEXT
Stevestr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 8:09 PM   #17
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Not a Pairing Issue

Thanks for all of the replies. I purchased the vehicle through an eBay power seller who just happened to be local. I have a call into him. With the number of cars that go through his shop, it is doubtful that he will have the code.

This issue is completely separate from the Treo...again, not a pairing issue.

I plan to take the car to an Acura dealer once I get a few more miles on her. I just had a subwoofer installed. I thought that when the disconnected the power to set everything up that might do the trick.

Unfortunately it got me no further than my ATM pin.

T
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 5:52 PM   #18
YVRTSX
Registered Member
2010 Acura RDX
 
YVRTSX's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 39
Posts: 167
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,634, Level: 53
Points: 6,634, Level: 53 Points: 6,634, Level: 53 Points: 6,634, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I don't know if this procedure is different from what is in the manual, but check out the May 2007 Service bulletin - there's an item in it regarding clearing the code.

http://tsx.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34037
YVRTSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 9:23 PM   #19
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Issue Resolved

The technician at Acura used the (5) steps in the May bulletin and I can now get into the system.

I will go through the pairing process this evening. The Treo 700wx has a THB kit icon that is specific to car auto answer features. I need to read about this feature in the manual to see exactly what it does.

Again, thanks for pointing me to the tech bulletin.

T
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 9:46 PM   #20
Nmbur10
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mine was 1-2-3-4 ...if anyone else can use that information.
Nmbur10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 9:53 AM   #21
lkeller
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cost to reset password

How much did they charge you to reset the password using the 5 steps? Did you have to leave the car or did they do it while you wait?
lkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 2:29 PM   #22
fodzy147
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Illinois
Age: 25
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,149, Level: 45
Points: 5,149, Level: 45 Points: 5,149, Level: 45 Points: 5,149, Level: 45
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
sounds like the previous owner had a passcode to get into his hfl. you can set a password to use the hfl before you can make a call.
fodzy147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 4:29 PM   #23
T-Squared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkeller
How much did they charge you to reset the password using the 5 steps? Did you have to leave the car or did they do it while you wait?
They did not charge me. I set the expectations in my e-mail request for service.

I had the 15K mile svc done and a couple of other things so I left it there.

T
T-Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 2:14 PM   #24
7dOPP
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Squared View Post
The technician at Acura used the (5) steps in the May bulletin and I can now get into the system.

I will go through the pairing process this evening. The Treo 700wx has a THB kit icon that is specific to car auto answer features. I need to read about this feature in the manual to see exactly what it does.

Again, thanks for pointing me to the tech bulletin.

T
I have the same situation, however, the Acura dealership wants to charge me $135 to clear the system. Can I do the 5 steps myself?

Ron
7dOPP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 3:18 PM   #25
Simba91102
Old Guy
1985 Ferrari 308
My Garage
 
Simba91102's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,726
Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 125 Posts
Points: 9,257, Level: 64
Points: 9,257, Level: 64 Points: 9,257, Level: 64 Points: 9,257, Level: 64
Activity: 2.2%
Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2% Activity: 2.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7dOPP View Post
I have the same situation, however, the Acura dealership wants to charge me $135 to clear the system. Can I do the 5 steps myself?

Ron
This thread is over 3 years old, so those that contributed may not still be on the site. I'd advise you contact a dealer.
Simba91102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 5:59 PM   #26
rhannahs19
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia Beach
Age: 26
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 741, Level: 14
Points: 741, Level: 14 Points: 741, Level: 14 Points: 741, Level: 14
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
grr i am having this problem with a 2008 tsx, sorry to bring up a dead thread, but any updates?
rhannahs19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 5:59 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2006, 580, acura, free, hands, handsfreelink, hfl, lock, locked, mdx, palmone, passcode, pin, reset, tl, treo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup