Tighten Fuel Cap - ? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2006, 5:03 PM   #1
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Tighten Fuel Cap - ?

Just bought my 06 TL on Friday (woo!) and drove it to work on Sunday. About 1 mile from work, the "TIGHTEN FUEL CAP" light came on the MID. So, I pulled over a few miles up, turned off the car, tightened the fuel cap and restarted. "TIGHTEN FUEL CAP". Hmm, checked the manual and followed it. No luck. Anyone have any advice for this? Its an 06 TL 6MT and was not being driven hard. Thanks!
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 6:41 PM   #2
trancemission
Senior Moderator
Regions Leader
2005 Lotus Elise
 
trancemission's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Age: 43
Posts: 11,111
Thanks: 68
Thanked 123 Times in 85 Posts
trancethan tranzemission
Points: 49,757, Level: 100
Points: 49,757, Level: 100 Points: 49,757, Level: 100 Points: 49,757, Level: 100
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
hmmm my advice would be dealer. I mean it happened two days after you picked it up.
trancemission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 6:56 PM   #3
Yakuza70
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Yakuza70's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Mateo
Age: 44
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The warning I got was "check fuel cap". There was no difference in the car that I could detect after retightening the cap so I just kept driving. I filled up the tank and the warning went off a few days later. It's been a month now and no problems since.
Yakuza70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 9:47 PM   #4
6MTrules
LeftFoot, RightHand Happy
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Age: 47
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 6,630, Level: 53
Points: 6,630, Level: 53 Points: 6,630, Level: 53 Points: 6,630, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Happened to me just recently on the first warm day this spring, and I followed the manual, and went away on next start-up. I assumed the warm weather caused some extra pressure buildup or something...
__________________
2005 6MT ABP / Camel / Navi
6MTrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:22 PM   #5
TailsToo
Currently at 50,546 miles
Garage is empty, add now
 
TailsToo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marlton, NJ
Age: 41
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had it happen with a large temperature change... if it hasn't happened again, I wouldn't worry.
TailsToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 10:13 AM   #6
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Problem is that it hasn't cleared yet. Haven't drove it since but have cranked it once or twice. Talked to the dealer/service yesterday and they'll look at it later this week. Said it was a non-issue, just needed to be reset. Haven't re-fueled it so far. Still on the original tank of gas.
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 11:23 AM   #7
subinf
One on the right for me
Garage is empty, add now
 
subinf's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 27,344
Thanks: 15
Thanked 128 Times in 88 Posts
Points: 20,523, Level: 90
Points: 20,523, Level: 90 Points: 20,523, Level: 90 Points: 20,523, Level: 90
Activity: 3.1%
Activity: 3.1% Activity: 3.1% Activity: 3.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnmg
Problem is that it hasn't cleared yet. Haven't drove it since but have cranked it once or twice. Talked to the dealer/service yesterday and they'll look at it later this week. Said it was a non-issue, just needed to be reset. Haven't re-fueled it so far. Still on the original tank of gas.
I'd give it another day or so, maybe put more gas into the tank and drive a little ways. If its still on then take it down to the dealer. There have been some other members with the same light coming on and a little driving took care of it.
subinf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 4:16 PM   #8
Maryland Mike
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Maryland Mike's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West River, MD
Age: 49
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Make sure you crank it past at least three "clicks."
Maryland Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 4:49 PM   #9
HiTEC
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Age: 40
Posts: 1,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm pretty sure if you get the light because your system detects a loose cap (bad for environment), and you get a light in the dash..... if you correct the situation the light will not immediately go out. It will take some time for that error condition to purge from the ECU.

All they did is improve the system a little bit... on most OBD2 cars that situation will just trip the "check engine" light on the dash. Acura improved the system, and for that same trouble code it's able to trip a little more informative light on the dash for the given situation. Like I said, I'm 99% sure it takes several drive cycles to purge this error condition from the system (just like any other CEL light condition), so just give it some time.
__________________
Brad B.
2006 Acura TL 6-speed w/ Navi - NBP with Ebony
Mods: 35% tint, V1 with concealed display, A-Spec suspension
Summer Setup: 18" A-Spec (gun-metal) with 235/40/YR18 Goodyear F1 GS-D3
Winter Setup: 17" Stock with Michelin Pilot MXM4 All Season ACTIVE
HF Link: Sprint Moto Q9c (CID, Signal Strength, Battery Level, Roaming and Full control)
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 10:09 PM   #10
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiTEC
I'm pretty sure if you get the light because your system detects a loose cap (bad for environment), and you get a light in the dash..... if you correct the situation the light will not immediately go out. It will take some time for that error condition to purge from the ECU.

All they did is improve the system a little bit... on most OBD2 cars that situation will just trip the "check engine" light on the dash. Acura improved the system, and for that same trouble code it's able to trip a little more informative light on the dash for the given situation. Like I said, I'm 99% sure it takes several drive cycles to purge this error condition from the system (just like any other CEL light condition), so just give it some time.
tnmg ... I picked up my 06 on 3/31, and after getting the car back from the shop yesterday, I've gotten the same message. I had ~160 miles on the odometer when the light tripped. I happened to be right down the road from the dealer, swung by there, and he's told me the same info you're hearing ... give it a couple days, and the code will clear itself. I did gas up after that trip (had about 1/4 tank remaining), but so far the light is still on. We'll see how long before it goes out.
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 7:19 AM   #11
HiTEC
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Geneva, Illinois
Age: 40
Posts: 1,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket_Cowboy
tnmg ... I picked up my 06 on 3/31, and after getting the car back from the shop yesterday, I've gotten the same message. I had ~160 miles on the odometer when the light tripped. I happened to be right down the road from the dealer, swung by there, and he's told me the same info you're hearing ... give it a couple days, and the code will clear itself. I did gas up after that trip (had about 1/4 tank remaining), but so far the light is still on. We'll see how long before it goes out.

In the ODB2 world it takes a certain number of engine run cycles to clear the codes. You can't just start and stop the engine either. There are certain parameters that must be met to what is considered a cycle. It usually involves the engine being cold and then being driven to a full warm up cycle. Depending on how much you drive it may take up to two weeks. Just make sure in the future you get the cap tight.
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 10:50 AM   #12
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket_Cowboy
tnmg ... I picked up my 06 on 3/31, and after getting the car back from the shop yesterday, I've gotten the same message. I had ~160 miles on the odometer when the light tripped. I happened to be right down the road from the dealer, swung by there, and he's told me the same info you're hearing ... give it a couple days, and the code will clear itself. I did gas up after that trip (had about 1/4 tank remaining), but so far the light is still on. We'll see how long before it goes out.
Wow, this is like Bizarro World. I picked up mine on 3/31 too and had right around 160 miles. Thanks for update. I've driven her two or three times since and light hasn't cleared and haven't had to refill yet. Was still on the first tank. I also read one of the Acura ServiceNews Bulletin (Nov. 2005) here that addresses the problem if it doesn't go away. There is a sticky on the 3GTL page with all of them. Interesting reading. Here's a link:

http://www.in.honda.com/Rjanisis/pubs/SN/B051100.PDF

Maybe I just need to drive her some more
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 10:56 AM   #13
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
RocketCowboy, your new Tl isn't a Antracite/ebony 6MT with navi is it?
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 3:32 PM   #14
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
And now its gone. Went out today after about 3 miles of driving.
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 7:21 PM   #15
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnmg
RocketCowboy, your new Tl isn't a Antracite/ebony 6MT with navi is it?
Sure is, why?
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 7:36 PM   #16
MichaelBenz
CTS-V Import Slayer
2005 Acura TL
 
MichaelBenz's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Age: 46
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
IndyCarz
Points: 17,730, Level: 84
Points: 17,730, Level: 84 Points: 17,730, Level: 84 Points: 17,730, Level: 84
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
I recently...just the other day...left the cap off at fillup like a total geek (was embarassed as all heck cause I get a real laugh seeing people drive like that historically) and luckily some lady honked at me as I went around the corner and I stopped and put it on.....dont remember the light ever even coming on or staying on? Damn...must have been on cloud nine that night! Geez....damn man...I am an old man now, arent I....its official...break out the loafers and beaded seat covers! lol :killer:
__________________
2005 Supercharged Acura TL (sold 5/09)
2005 Cadillac CTS-V
1999 Lexus GS400 L-Tuned
2000 Chevy Impala 9C1 Ex Cop Car
MichaelBenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 8:38 PM   #17
mlody
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Plaines
Age: 36
Posts: 500
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 9,743, Level: 66
Points: 9,743, Level: 66 Points: 9,743, Level: 66 Points: 9,743, Level: 66
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Same thing happened to me in my Accord ’06. I got message “check fuel cap” after about putting 150 miles since the last fillup. I checked the cap, made sure it click 2-3 times and drove another 100 miles (2-3 days) and the message cleared up.

My manual says that it takes some times to trigger the message as well as to clear it, so if you do not drive a lot it might take few days – for some it might be just a matter of a day or so.
Next thing is, if there was a defect etc, the check engine light might follow up.
mlody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 2:30 AM   #18
txathlete
I make Boom Boom in
Garage is empty, add now
 
txathlete's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,884
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 8,070, Level: 60
Points: 8,070, Level: 60 Points: 8,070, Level: 60 Points: 8,070, Level: 60
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
The same thing happened to me on Friday. I took it to the dealer and the dealer said that it was the gas cap seal and the "Please check gas cap" light will go off in 1-100 miles or so. If your check engine light comes on then you need to take it into the dealer. The warning went away sometime Saturday. Maybe it's a temp thing with the gas fumes?

Mine was an 05 and have it for just over a year and this is the first time something like that has happened to me.
txathlete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 12:14 PM   #19
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by txathlete
The same thing happened to me on Friday. I took it to the dealer and the dealer said that it was the gas cap seal and the "Please check gas cap" light will go off in 1-100 miles or so. If your check engine light comes on then you need to take it into the dealer. The warning went away sometime Saturday. Maybe it's a temp thing with the gas fumes?

Mine was an 05 and have it for just over a year and this is the first time something like that has happened to me.
Well ... here I am, at the dealer getting the system checked out. I now have 408 miles on the car, and this morning on the way into the office the tighten fuel cap message was replaced with the check engine light.

Unlike others who have had their message clear, it looks like mine is possibly something else. Hopefully it's an easy fix, and not a sign of things to come.
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 9:10 AM   #20
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well ... they ran a test on the evap system, and everything checks out. No idea why the original message came up, or why it was still there to trigger the check engine code.

For now, we've just reset the codes and will wait and see if it comes up again.
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 4:18 PM   #21
ResearchFreak
"HMS Ruby"
Garage is empty, add now
 
ResearchFreak's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 54
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My "Check Fuel Cap" light came on a week ago. We always click the cap 3 times when we fill up so I don't know what could have caused it. We took the cap off and replaced it, the light has still not gone out. ?? It also has not changed over to the "Check Engine Light".

If I take it to the dealer will they charge me to reset it? (Assuming there isn't anything really wrong with my fuel cap or system?) Argh, I hate taking an hour or so out of my day for something like this.
ResearchFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 11:19 PM   #22
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResearchFreak
My "Check Fuel Cap" light came on a week ago. We always click the cap 3 times when we fill up so I don't know what could have caused it. We took the cap off and replaced it, the light has still not gone out. ?? It also has not changed over to the "Check Engine Light".

If I take it to the dealer will they charge me to reset it? (Assuming there isn't anything really wrong with my fuel cap or system?) Argh, I hate taking an hour or so out of my day for something like this.
They shouldn't charge you to reset the codes. Even if no problem is found, obviously something set it off the first time.

FYI ... mine is going back tomorrow morning. I seem to be having chronic problems with this issue, and it always results in a check engine light. But only when I'm city driving. I can run tank after tank after tank through it on the highway ... no problem. As soon as I do a tank in city driving, I get the "tighten fuel cap" error.
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 6:52 PM   #23
ResearchFreak
"HMS Ruby"
Garage is empty, add now
 
ResearchFreak's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 54
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, the light finally went out! It was on for 10 days. When I drove on the freeway for 20 minutes, it went away. I guess I don't do enough freeway driving. The manual says it should only take a minute of two of driving at 45 MPH. I guess my car is just tempermental! I hope your problems get worked out Rocket Cowboy!
ResearchFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 5:59 PM   #24
Rocket_Cowboy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Rocket_Cowboy's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResearchFreak
Well, the light finally went out! It was on for 10 days. When I drove on the freeway for 20 minutes, it went away. I guess I don't do enough freeway driving. The manual says it should only take a minute of two of driving at 45 MPH. I guess my car is just tempermental! I hope your problems get worked out Rocket Cowboy!
Thanks ResearchFreak.

Dealer called today, and we found the source of the problem. The evap canister (charcoal canister that filters evap fumes) was defective from the factory. It's being replaced, and should cure my ills.

Since this has been a day one problem for the car (I got the tighten fuel cap message on my first tank of gas, and on subsequent tanks), it makes sense. We'll see how she does when I get her back tomorrow.

Driving this loaner TSX, I definitely miss my TL.
Rocket_Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 2:47 AM   #25
tnmg
06 Antracite/Ebony 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
tnmg's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Wow, its taken them awhile. How long have you been with a TSX?? :P
tnmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 2:47 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2005, 2009, acura, acurazine, cap, check, fuel, gas, light, loose, rdx, tighten, tl, tsx, warning

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
San Francisco International Car Show (pics) 56K beware Speed_Racer Car Talk 18 11-26-2003 10:21 AM
F/S: Dual bolted on ACautotechnic exhaust v6accord/CL/TL XkRaZiX Car Parts for Sale 16 11-17-2003 5:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup