02 acura tl 5th gear blinking, no 5th gear - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2006, 7:33 AM   #1
marcelo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
02 acura tl 5th gear blinking, no 5th gear

Today my panel was blinking non stop, showing green light on 5th.
My transmission will not shift to 5Th gear and no manual shifting at all.
Any ideas??

Thanks...
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
marcelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 2:58 PM   #2
Ryons02TLTypeS
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Ryons02TLTypeS's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Queens, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5,810, Level: 49
Points: 5,810, Level: 49 Points: 5,810, Level: 49 Points: 5,810, Level: 49
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
i think u gotta prob buddy, remmeber rradin it b4.. about the deadly blinkin D5
Ryons02TLTypeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 4:18 PM   #3
03CoupeV6
05 C230K & 09 135i 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
03CoupeV6's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 3,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 11,798, Level: 71
Points: 11,798, Level: 71 Points: 11,798, Level: 71 Points: 11,798, Level: 71
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
The transmission is dead.
03CoupeV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 6:12 PM   #4
marcelo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I find out today that my car alarm PURSUIT mod: pro 9232s was interfering with my car electrical components, like my tranny computer. As soon as I remove this alarm the problem was solved. I note that everytime the trunk door was open the 5th gear green light would not blink after I started it again and as soon as I open the trunk door the 5th green light would go on and off again. I guess I luck it out.
marcelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 6:20 PM   #5
marcelo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
So I had to turn the ignition key on everytime I open and close the trunk.
marcelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 6:22 PM   #6
03CoupeV6
05 C230K & 09 135i 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
03CoupeV6's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 3,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 11,798, Level: 71
Points: 11,798, Level: 71 Points: 11,798, Level: 71 Points: 11,798, Level: 71
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Okay.. weird.
03CoupeV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 7:19 PM   #7
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,859
Thanks: 592
Thanked 1,919 Times in 1,401 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,808, Level: 100
Points: 98,808, Level: 100 Points: 98,808, Level: 100 Points: 98,808, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5%
And just for the record a Flashing D5 light Doesnt necessarily mean the tranny is dead. It can mean a # of things.
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 9:41 PM   #8
marcelo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 46
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
I was wondering is there is anybody with a t5 flashing light that end up no being such a too bad of a problem? , like the one that a had with the Pursuit car alarm. It would be nice to know.
marcelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 10:09 PM   #9
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,859
Thanks: 592
Thanked 1,919 Times in 1,401 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,808, Level: 100
Points: 98,808, Level: 100 Points: 98,808, Level: 100 Points: 98,808, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5% Activity: 99.5%
I had a Blinking D5 light and it was a tranny temp sensor. Easy to replace. Like i said it blinking doesnt mean that its a dead tranny for sure. There are other things it could be.
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 2:18 AM   #10
NYanks78
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
NYanks78's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 54
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,949, Level: 54
Points: 6,949, Level: 54 Points: 6,949, Level: 54 Points: 6,949, Level: 54
Activity: 2.9%
Activity: 2.9% Activity: 2.9% Activity: 2.9%
I had the same problem just now, and it was werid cause the car was hesitating in first gear and then the blinking light came on at 5th gear. Then I went to park and my reverse wounldn't work. Then I restarted the car and it worked but hesitating was still their, now I dont know what to do. I think this is the tranny and I have a warrany and gonna bring it to Acura, but wanna know if Anyone ever hear or expirenced this and have any suggestions....
NYanks78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 2:56 AM   #11
sturgeongeorge
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 38
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by freestye23
I had the same problem just now, and it was werid cause the car was hesitating in first gear and then the blinking light came on at 5th gear. Then I went to park and my reverse wounldn't work. Then I restarted the car and it worked but hesitating was still their, now I dont know what to do. I think this is the tranny and I have a warrany and gonna bring it to Acura, but wanna know if Anyone ever hear or expirenced this and have any suggestions....
I had this same problem this evening. What did you come up with?
sturgeongeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 10:36 AM   #12
sturgeongeorge
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 38
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsttyms1
I had a Blinking D5 light and it was a tranny temp sensor. Easy to replace. Like i said it blinking doesnt mean that its a dead tranny for sure. There are other things it could be.
did that sensor cause the transmission not to shift properly?
sturgeongeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 12:46 PM   #13
Edward'TLS
4G TL-Elilte, 3G MDX
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Richmond,B.C.,Canada
Posts: 8,007
Thanks: 29
Thanked 492 Times in 395 Posts
Points: 16,505, Level: 82
Points: 16,505, Level: 82 Points: 16,505, Level: 82 Points: 16,505, Level: 82
Activity: 39.7%
Activity: 39.7% Activity: 39.7% Activity: 39.7%
Pull the fault code(s) out from the PCM. That's the only way to find out what exactly is the problem. Much better than pure guessworks.
Edward'TLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 12:49 PM   #14
sturgeongeorge
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 38
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward'TLS
Pull the fault code(s) out from the PCM. That's the only way to find out what exactly is the problem. Much better than pure guessworks.
pulled code p0720
sturgeongeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 3:15 AM   #15
h8shwz
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 5, Level: 1
Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1
Activity: 0.2%
Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2% Activity: 0.2%
I had that same code P0720

Quote:
Originally Posted by sturgeongeorge View Post
pulled code p0720
What does it mean? My car has went into gear 2 time now it wont move at all. When I drove it last the D5 light was blinking when I got up to 10mph?? Can any one help me out?
h8shwz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 7:09 AM   #16
3.2TLc
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 48
Posts: 4,655
Thanks: 883
Thanked 646 Times in 617 Posts
Points: 12,353, Level: 72
Points: 12,353, Level: 72 Points: 12,353, Level: 72 Points: 12,353, Level: 72
Activity: 47.6%
Activity: 47.6% Activity: 47.6% Activity: 47.6%
Hey H8shwz, ya pulled up a rather old thread......but to answer your question about the code P0720 : It's indicating a potential problem within the Countershaft Speed Sensor Circuit. Are you getting any other codes ?

Check the MAP sensor, if ok...then inspect the Countershaft Speed Sensor wiring harness connector. Could be loose or corroded, maybe a poor ground or shorted. Clear the codes and see if the CEL comes back on. It could be that the Countershaft Speed Sensor is faulty and needs replaced ?
3.2TLc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 7:09 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
02, 2000, 9232s, acura, blinking, code, d5, flashing, green, light, p0720, pro, shift, tl, wont

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying PS2 games ComptechType-S Ramblings 13 10-14-2003 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup