'99 TL - Check Engine Light code:1709 - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2005, 1:12 PM   #1
ez99TL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 44
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
'99 TL - Check Engine Light code:1709

Hi all & thx to this site... My question is CEL code 1709, does anyone know what exactly it means? I believe its either tranny related or A/T assembly. But the dealer replaced my tranny few months ago and then I started getting the CEL. Unfortunately they couldnt diagnose correctly at first . But now they its assembely and its not covered in the work they did to the tranny. In any case I got it diagnose outside and they gave me the code 1709... If anyone knows, I'd really appreciate it
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
ez99TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 2:10 PM   #2
mdavisii
B93P TL Owner
Garage is empty, add now
 
mdavisii's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gwinnett County, GA
Age: 37
Posts: 359
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 8,814, Level: 63
Points: 8,814, Level: 63 Points: 8,814, Level: 63 Points: 8,814, Level: 63
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
OBD-II Diagnostic Code P1709:
Park Or Neutral Position Switch Out Of Self Test Range

Don't exactly know what this means, but that is what the code reads.
mdavisii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 7:15 PM   #3
loud_whispers
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: somewhere,nj
Age: 32
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
p1709 is a "Problem in the Gear Selection Switch Circuit".

The trans. gear selection switch is located on the shift lever assembly itself. The mode switch turns on when the shift lever shifts to the sequential sportshift mode. If the shift lever is pushed forward, the UP switch turns on. If the shift lever is pulled backward, the DOWN switch turns on. The transmission then sends signals to the PCM.

Mode switch or up/down switch STUCK ON Failure-
If the mode switch stays on while the shift lever is in OTHER than d4 position or in the sequental mode, ON FAILURE is determined.

Mode switch OFF failure-
If the mode switch stays off while the shift lever is in the sequential mode and up/down switch is actuated several times, OFF failure is determined.


Remove the Battery and battery tray. Remove the air duct tube.

Unplug all the connectors on the transmission and plug them back in. Check to see if any are unplugged. Especially the range switch.

Then clear the code.

If that doesnt work, you need a gear selector switch which has nothing to do with the tranny installation.

good luck
loud_whispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 8:30 PM   #4
honda_inspire99
Skeet Skeet Skeet
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta
Age: 32
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yea definately unplug and plug the connections on the trany, i had a code for p1773 and thats because one of the connectors was loose....good luck
honda_inspire99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 9:56 AM   #5
melissasain
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hickory, North Carolina
Age: 29
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Makes you think twice before going to the dealership don't it? I know I've been there.
melissasain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 4:23 PM   #6
loud_whispers
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: somewhere,nj
Age: 32
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by melissasain
Makes you think twice before going to the dealership don't it? I know I've been there.
Try going somewhere else for a free transmission.
loud_whispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 9:40 AM   #7
melissasain
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hickory, North Carolina
Age: 29
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't know ANY dealerships around here that would give me a free one, and I have had problems out of mine. I also had a friend and they replaced hers in GA and guess what ...... she has more problems now than she did before. So does free sound better?
melissasain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 12:10 PM   #8
fsttyms1
Senior Moderator
2000 Acura TL
 
fsttyms1's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Appleton WI
Age: 39
Posts: 75,335
Thanks: 546
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,327 Posts
fsttyms1
Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100 Points: 98,328, Level: 100
Activity: 99.6%
Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6% Activity: 99.6%
Quote:
Originally Posted by melissasain
I don't know ANY dealerships around here that would give me a free one, and I have had problems out of mine. I also had a friend and they replaced hers in GA and guess what ...... she has more problems now than she did before. So does free sound better?
Well if your within the 100k they are free, and free are alot better than paying 4k + for a new one. And if she has problems tell her to bring the car back to the dealer!
fsttyms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 3:33 PM   #9
03CoupeV6
05 C230K & 09 135i 6MT
Garage is empty, add now
 
03CoupeV6's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 3,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 9,805, Level: 66
Points: 9,805, Level: 66 Points: 9,805, Level: 66 Points: 9,805, Level: 66
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by melissasain
I don't know ANY dealerships around here that would give me a free one, and I have had problems out of mine. I also had a friend and they replaced hers in GA and guess what ...... she has more problems now than she did before. So does free sound better?
If she had it replaced at Nalley Acura they probably left pieces out or installed it incorrectly. They replaced my dash, my passenger airbag, and my headunit and all three were installed incorrectly. They also did damage to parts every single time.
03CoupeV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 2:15 PM   #10
melissasain
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hickory, North Carolina
Age: 29
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

I think 03coupe36 summed it up nicely, I would rather pay for it and get it done right than to keep having to cuss the Acura dealership to fix what they keep messing up. Yea, it's free; but we all know free isn't always better.
melissasain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 1:52 PM   #11
loud_whispers
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: somewhere,nj
Age: 32
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by melissasain
I think 03coupe36 summed it up nicely, I would rather pay for it and get it done right than to keep having to cuss the Acura dealership to fix what they keep messing up. Yea, it's free; but we all know free isn't always better.


we know these transmissions better than anyone in the world. that's just foolish to take it somewhere else.
loud_whispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 1:52 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1709, 2002, 99, acura, check, circuit, code, diagnostic, engine, gear, p1709, p1773, selection, switch, tl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boycotting French companies!!! JSuppi Ramblings 2 03-15-2003 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup