What does the codes P1706 and P0700 mean? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > First Generation TL (1996-1998) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2005, 10:13 PM   #1
2doe
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What does the codes P1706 and P0700 mean?

Anyone knows these codes meaning? and how to fix?

P1706
P0700

thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
2doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:28 PM   #2
WolfpackBill
TL no more!
Garage is empty, add now
 
WolfpackBill's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clemmons, NC
Age: 32
Posts: 761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Ok...P1706 means that the tranny fails to shift other than 2nd-4th gears and lock-up clutch does not engage. The possible causes are either:

-disconnected A/T gear position switch connector
-open in A/T gear position switch wire
-faulty A/T gear position switch

IMO, take it to a tranny shop and see what the problem really is. It does sound like it's a bad tranny computer. Our '90 Accord had the same problem but no codes because there weren't OBDII computers. There were no first gear nor 4th gear. The problem was the tranny computer and the replacement was $300.
WolfpackBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:29 PM   #3
LDH
I <3 Retrofits
Garage is empty, add now
 
LDH's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 921
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
P1706 has something to do with the automatic transmission and are you sure its P0700?
LDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:37 PM   #4
2doe
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
yeah, there was two codes. I took it to the dealer to get it flushed about two months ago. Do you think something might have happened? it shift well. as far as I can tell. thanks guys
2doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:54 PM   #5
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,100
Thanks: 1,163
Thanked 1,353 Times in 829 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,381, Level: 100
Points: 45,381, Level: 100 Points: 45,381, Level: 100 Points: 45,381, Level: 100
Activity: 54.3%
Activity: 54.3% Activity: 54.3% Activity: 54.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2doe
Anyone knows these codes meaning? and how to fix?

P1706
P0700

thanks
P1706 is not in my book

P0700 is the Transmission Control System
Ken1997TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 7:58 AM   #6
MongooseDog
808 TL Scene Photographer
Garage is empty, add now
 
MongooseDog's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mililani, HI
Age: 32
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey does this mean that you guys have an FSM available for these cars? If so where did you pick it up?
MongooseDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 10:04 AM   #7
2doe
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
thanks guys, i will call the dealer and ask if it still under warranty, ie the emissions warranty
2doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 11:45 AM   #8
Haikoo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 27
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2doe
thanks guys, i will call the dealer and ask if it still under warranty, ie the emissions warranty
Wishfull thinking....apples and oranges

I have the similar tranny problem. When the car is cold the shift from 1 to 2 is VERY rough and actualy kicks me back....but if I shift manualy from 1 to 2 it's smooth.
Haikoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:36 PM   #9
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,100
Thanks: 1,163
Thanked 1,353 Times in 829 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,381, Level: 100
Points: 45,381, Level: 100 Points: 45,381, Level: 100 Points: 45,381, Level: 100
Activity: 54.3%
Activity: 54.3% Activity: 54.3% Activity: 54.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by MongooseDog
hey does this mean that you guys have an FSM available for these cars? If so where did you pick it up?
No, but its a Chilton and has most of the stuff I need.
Ken1997TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 2:02 PM   #10
WolfpackBill
TL no more!
Garage is empty, add now
 
WolfpackBill's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clemmons, NC
Age: 32
Posts: 761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by MongooseDog
hey does this mean that you guys have an FSM available for these cars? If so where did you pick it up?
I have the Honda's service manual on cd-rom that covers 1st gen TL's. It's a great manual. I bought it on Ebay for like $25.
WolfpackBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 3:30 PM   #11
LDH
I <3 Retrofits
Garage is empty, add now
 
LDH's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 921
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by MongooseDog
hey does this mean that you guys have an FSM available for these cars? If so where did you pick it up?
I use shopkey5, which is like a helms manual for every car
LDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 6:27 PM   #12
MongooseDog
808 TL Scene Photographer
Garage is empty, add now
 
MongooseDog's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mililani, HI
Age: 32
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oh ok nice. one more question I just got my bumper lights in do you guys know what the bulb codes are for them?
MongooseDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 7:51 PM   #13
LDH
I <3 Retrofits
Garage is empty, add now
 
LDH's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So Cal
Age: 26
Posts: 921
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64 Points: 9,071, Level: 64
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
194/168 for the outer peice and its either 7440 or 7441 which everone if a single filament.

*it's 7440 for the bigger peice.
LDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 1:22 PM   #14
Ysidro
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi,
if it said tranny,
Is your d4 light burnt out? Or any of them? If it is try replacing them first.
If your car drives fine then it should be something else.
For me, its weird, my D4 light went out, the check engine light comes one. I then took it to First Acura dealer, they told me its somekind of transmission switch. It cost me $256 for labor and the part cost only $11 buck! They try to sound tecnical by saying its a transmission switch but infact its a fucking light bulb.
Ysidro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 9:08 PM   #15
Haikoo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 27
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ysidro
hi,
if it said tranny,
Is your d4 light burnt out? Or any of them? If it is try replacing them first.
If your car drives fine then it should be something else.
For me, its weird, my D4 light went out, the check engine light comes one. I then took it to First Acura dealer, they told me its somekind of transmission switch. It cost me $256 for labor and the part cost only $11 buck! They try to sound tecnical by saying its a transmission switch but infact its a fucking light bulb.
Doubt it.

The d4 lights are burnt out on most of our cars and theres no way it trigers the check engine light.

Next time get a code read first before you take it to a dealer if you're worried about being riped off.
Haikoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 6:11 PM   #16
spydercatt
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 59
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Points: 1,180, Level: 18
Points: 1,180, Level: 18 Points: 1,180, Level: 18 Points: 1,180, Level: 18
Activity: 3.4%
Activity: 3.4% Activity: 3.4% Activity: 3.4%
Check out this video to see how to change the switch out

spydercatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 6:11 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
99, accord, acura, car, check, cl, code, control, engine, honda, light, p0700, p0700tranny, p1706, starting, system

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup