Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush? - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2003, 3:07 AM   #1
dee diddy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancity 604
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush?

i'm almost at 30,000 km and a change is due. the cars always been on conventional from the 1st 2 free servicing and the semi-major type 3 servicing. would be ok to just dump in the synthetic or would i need to flush out the old oil with something???
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
dee diddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 7:10 AM   #2
russianDude
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Age: 37
Posts: 3,218
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 15,998, Level: 81
Points: 15,998, Level: 81 Points: 15,998, Level: 81 Points: 15,998, Level: 81
Activity: 2.1%
Activity: 2.1% Activity: 2.1% Activity: 2.1%
Re: Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush?

Quote:
Originally posted by dee diddy
i'm almost at 30,000 km and a change is due. the cars always been on conventional from the 1st 2 free servicing and the semi-major type 3 servicing. would be ok to just dump in the synthetic or would i need to flush out the old oil with something???
No flush needed. In fact, you can mix regular and synthetic 50/50 if you want,. they are fully compatable,
russianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 1:30 PM   #3
jmai
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's recommended that u do an oil change w/ oil flush additive b4 u switch to full synthetic. Some conventional oils r not compatible w/ synthetic oil causing ur seals to break n leak.
jmai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 1:39 PM   #4
TLKrazey20
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Now in Northern VA
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,608, Level: 58
Points: 7,608, Level: 58 Points: 7,608, Level: 58 Points: 7,608, Level: 58
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: Re: Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush?

Quote:
Originally posted by russianDude
No flush needed. In fact, you can mix regular and synthetic 50/50 if you want,. they are fully compatable,
You trying to blow dudes engine up??? GOD I hope your not a mechanic


[QUOTE]Originally posted by jmai It's recommended that u do an oil change w/ oil flush additive b4 u switch to full synthetic. Some conventional oils r not compatible w/ synthetic oil causing ur seals to break n leak.[/QUOTE ]



this is the guy I'd take my car to
__________________
2003 TL Type-S w/ Navi Nighthawk Black Pearl
20% Tint all around
Tein SS w/ EDFC
Rotora Slotted & Cross Drilled Rotors
Comptech SS Brake Lines
Ebc Greenstuff
Viper 791xv
TLKrazey20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 3:17 PM   #5
dee diddy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancity 604
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Quote:
Originally posted by jmai
It's recommended that u do an oil change w/ oil flush additive b4 u switch to full synthetic. Some conventional oils r not compatible w/ synthetic oil causing ur seals to break n leak.
well the conventional oil that's always been in my engine has been whatever the dealer uses. any suggestions on what good oil flush additives out there i could try? and how would the application work? this would be added along with the new synthetic oil?
dee diddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 3:49 PM   #6
hellas
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: to
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
russianDude is right. flushing is for special circumstances or for idiots who dont have a clue
hellas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 3:54 PM   #7
russianDude
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Age: 37
Posts: 3,218
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Points: 15,998, Level: 81
Points: 15,998, Level: 81 Points: 15,998, Level: 81 Points: 15,998, Level: 81
Activity: 2.1%
Activity: 2.1% Activity: 2.1% Activity: 2.1%
Re: Re: Re: Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush?

Quote:
Originally posted by TLKrazey20
You trying to blow dudes engine up??? GOD I hope your not a mechanic
It's time for you to do some readings on modern synthetic oils.
This is a good place to begin your education:

www.mobil1.com (FAQ section):

Q:
Do I need to flush my engine before converting to Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™?

A:
No. There is no special preparation necessary when converting from conventional oil to Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™. In fact, Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™ is compatible with conventional oil should it be necessary to mix the two. However, diluting it with conventional oil will reduce the superior performance characteristics of Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™.

Back in the days synehtic oils were not fully compatable, thats why people have this myths about "engine flush"
russianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 4:38 PM   #8
dj5
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,085
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Points: 11,333, Level: 70
Points: 11,333, Level: 70 Points: 11,333, Level: 70 Points: 11,333, Level: 70
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Re: Re: Re: Re: Switching to synthetic...do I need to flush?

Quote:
Originally posted by russianDude
It's time for you to do some readings on modern synthetic oils.
This is a good place to begin your education:

www.mobil1.com (FAQ section):

Q:
Do I need to flush my engine before converting to Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™?

A:
No. There is no special preparation necessary when converting from conventional oil to Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™. In fact, Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™ is compatible with conventional oil should it be necessary to mix the two. However, diluting it with conventional oil will reduce the superior performance characteristics of Mobil 1 with SuperSyn™.

Back in the days synehtic oils were not fully compatable, thats why people have this myths about "engine flush"
dj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 4:44 PM   #9
BlueXTC
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tysons Corner
Posts: 458
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 9,040, Level: 63
Points: 9,040, Level: 63 Points: 9,040, Level: 63 Points: 9,040, Level: 63
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
no you do not have to flush your engine to use synthetic oil
__________________
2002 silver TL-S
Cleared Headlights
factory ground kits
H&R Sport
Comptech Exhaust
OBX Header
AEM CAI
6000K D2R Ultinons
VOLK RACING TE37(GM) 18 X 7.5 +48
Yokohama AVS ES100 225/40/18
BlueXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 5:55 PM   #10
dee diddy
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancity 604
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
thx for all the interesting answers all. i was gonna use M1 so guess i got my answer.
dee diddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 5:55 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
acura, car, change, conventional, converting, engine, flush, mix, mixing, mobil, motor, oil, regular, rsx, switching, synthetic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup