Dating & Relationships Love sucks. Now you can cry about it…

Wife Doesn't Trust Me...

Old 02-08-2007, 07:56 AM
Chapter Leader
(Northeast Florida)

Received 1,651 Likes on 1,116 Posts
Wife Doesn't Trust Me...

OK, I need some help. My wife doesn't trust me. Now before you all think that I am cheating on her and blah, blah, blah, none of that is happening. I love my wife and trust her with my life...

My wife is a Naval nurse currently deployed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba for the next 5 months. We talk to each other almost every day. Every month we sit down and go over our budget together. For one of our budgeted items (student loans), my wife had budgeted $124 for that item every month (based on a minimum payment of $123.07 to be exact). I don't like making the minimum payments, and I have been putting $150 on it for the past two months. My wife asked me to stop, and I said that I would, but I did it again last month and this month (before my wife and I talked last night about the budget).

My wife was really upset with me and she said that, "since you are doing this and doing something that I asked you to stop doing, how can I trust you with other things?"

I want my wife to be able to trust me. What steps (besides the obvious; stop putting money on my student loan) can I take in order to start to regain her trust?

I realize this needs to be done in baby steps, but has anyone ever had any problems with this?

The reason why I am putting more on my student loans is because my wife is leaving the Navy in about 1.5 years. Then all of the income with be on my shoulders. I'm trying to reduce our debt as much as I can, and I thought that $150 was a nice round number to put on my student loan. My wife will say that I like exact numbers, and I do, to a point. When it comes to loans and paying them off, I like round numbers.
Old 02-08-2007, 08:01 AM
Honda+Blue=My garage

Received 43 Likes on 32 Posts