Front CV axles need to replaced at 80k miles.

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2017, 03:57 PM
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Unhappy Front CV axles need to replaced at 80k miles.

So today I took my car in to get the axles checked. I had the issue where accelerating on the highway caused it to shake. My dealership said the job would cost $4800 normally, but I'm getting it done for $3000 (price also includes other maintenance). Am I getting a good deal on this? It's an AutoNation Acura dealership.
Old 02-01-2017, 04:07 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,584 Likes on 6,630 Posts
dafuq...

axles aren't that expensive... can you DIY
Old 02-01-2017, 04:16 PM
Advanced

I'm pretty new to DIY-ing so I don't want to risk doing it on my own. Would it make more sense if the dealership is replacing the entire driveshaft assembly?
Old 02-01-2017, 04:18 PM
Senior Moderator

How deep are your pockets?
Old 02-01-2017, 04:23 PM
Advanced

Not very deep lol. I'm trying to do all the research that I can to find out why they said it'll cost so much. I've read that it normally costs less than $1000. Now they are doing more than just axle stuff for $3000 though. I can't remember what was on the list but there were 3 things that had to be done that cost between $120 to $170 each. That still means I'm being charged nearly $2500 for parts and 5-6 hours of labor.
Old 02-01-2017, 04:27 PM
Senior Moderator

Go to Acura Parts | OEM Acura Parts | Factory Acura Parts and put in all the parts that you need to find the parts pricing.

Then find a local competent mechanic that can install it for you.
The following users liked this post:
kurtatx (02-05-2017)
Old 02-01-2017, 04:35 PM
Advanced

Oh shit, either this dealership is messing around or they're about to replace the entire drive shaft assembly. Adding all the drive shaft parts to cart gave me a total of about $2600. This is very bad...
Old 02-01-2017, 04:36 PM
Senior Moderator

look at your estimate, you should see parts numbers no?