Recommendations for Complete Strut & Spring Options + Install Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2017, 09:11 AM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Recommendations for Complete Strut & Spring Options + Install Question

Hey Guys,

As some of you may have seen in this thread, https://acurazine.com/forums/second-...3-tl-s-954491/, I have decided to hang on to my 2003 TL-S (135K miles) for now. One of the things I want to do on it is to replace the front struts. The front right is definitely leaking badly and the car has been always leaning to the right since 2008 when I hit a curb real, real hard. Not sure if replacing the strut will solve the leaning problem, but I believe the leak isn't good so might as well give it a shot.

Anyways, I am a novice DIYer, so I'm trying to find a a complete assembly that includes the strut and the spring rather than trying to buy them separately and compress it myself.

One question I have though, is there any difference between the struts of a TL-S vs. TL-P? Either way, I have found the following options on the web. Does anyone have experience with these or perhaps recommendations for others? Is it also possible to buy the struts and springs separately and have a shop put it together for me?

Here's one from Rockauto for the brand FCS for $150: More Information for FCS 2336305R
Here's one from AM Auto Parts for $109: https://www.am-autoparts.com/product...l?m=585&y=2003
Here's another one from eBay for $155: 99 00 01 02 03 ACURA 3.2 TL FRONT COMPLETE STRUT SHOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY LIFETIME! eBay

Also, as far as the install goes, based on some videos I watched and the service manual, once you have put the new stuff in, you should jack up the knuckle before tightening everything, correct?

Thanks guys!
Old 02-12-2017, 01:05 PM
Advanced

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
The Type S has a stiffer spring than the Type P.