Help! Random misfires

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2016, 03:23 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! Random misfires

Ok where do I begin? I bought my cls 6 about 5 yrs ago with 157k on her. I love this car btw it's a love I can only compare to that of my first dog. Any who, it had its timing belt water and front suspension changed at 120k. One owner btw the original clutch was practically new when I test drove at 157k the never even down shifted the beauty once. Ok so I've had this amazing machine going on five years now and only put 44 on it. It sat for a collected time of about 1yr twice for 6 months. Just got it back on the road after the last 6 month sitting. I'm far from a mechanic but I do get my hands dirty, mainly for lack of trust for some of the local shops around my way. Since I got her back on the road I've had a cel stating misfires in all cylinders. I ran some fuel injection cleaner, sea foamed, and autolite iridium plugs. Still had the misfires. then I removed the intake manifold cleaned entire manifold paying particular attention to egr passage. Removed egr valve cleaned it. During this whole process I had a coil completely crap out, replaced that. And still misfires in all cylinders. Heard from a friend that it could be the cheap spark plugs, made sense so i replaced them with NGK and once again reset the ecu. And to no avail cel back on 30 miles or so later. Only this time it read misfires in cylinders 1-5 cylinder 6 has the new coil. So naturally I'm going to switch the coil to another cylinder and reset ecu yet again to determine whether all five coil are goin bad. Though it doesn't seem likely to me that all five would be going bad at once. Then again what I now. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I should mentioned this already but along with the cel its tough to start more often than not and its got a rough idle when it does start up for atleast 5 minutes or so depending on how cold it is outside. Also even after it does warm