TLX Paint Defect - How to Proceed

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2014, 04:57 AM
Instructor

Received 77 Likes on 48 Posts
TLX Paint Defect - How to Proceed

Okay, so today I dropped off my TLX at an authorized detailer to get Opti Coat Pro installed (a ceramic clear coat). TLX is graphite colored.

I've never used him before, but he has over 25+ years of experience in the industry, came highly recommended, and has an impressive resume of caring for vehicles that cost 5 times what my TLX set me back. He's toured with customers for competitions, so I'd consider him 'master craftsman' level.

My conversation with him pre-detail about my TLX, the quality of the paint job on my TLX, very minor flaws he saw (likely dealer induced) was amazing. These were things like tape residue where the factory prep material left ultra-faint lines on the paint from the adhesive residue

He calls me to inform me of a few things. I could tell that he was annoyed at the detailing job the dealer did. Apparently, they left wax residue in a number of the parking sensors which irked him as well as other parts of the car, but he can fix it along with the typical hairline scuffs that they put in the paint.

Then the more serious things that I honestly, never noticed. He says there's a paint defect below the clear coat on the trunk deck lid. It appears to be where the pearl coat 'ran' during the painting process prior to the clear coat application. He said he was shocked that it made it out of Acura QC and either it got missed or it's been repainted by the dealer. Now here, I'm thinking there's a HUGE area that I somehow missed, but as the conversation moves on he tells me that it's about 1/4 the size of your pinkie finger nail. (wow, does he notice things).