Alternator smoking when car isn't on!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2015, 02:37 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alternator smoking when car isn't on!!!!

So my battery light pops on, im thinking it's just a low battery I'll get a new one in a few days. Two days later my car shuts off and I have to push it off to the side of the road, I go to buy a new battery and I switch it ou, simple fix right? Wrong.
As soon as I connected the new battery my alternator started smoking up and I had no idea what was going on! Im new to the j series and I've only had integras for the past 5 years and I've never encountered a problem like this before. So I turned the car on and the smoking stopped then I saw my battery light was still on. Im thinking the alternator is fried and The logical thing to do is to replace the alternator and hope it goes away. But if im missing something that someone has knowledge of that's gone through this please help
I don't want my car to catch fire
Thanks
Old 03-29-2015, 08:00 AM
Stay Out Of the Left Lane

Received 1,236 Likes on 1,023 Posts
If I were in your shoes, I would look at replacing the alternator. I haven't heard or seen this issue, but would say you are on the right track.
Old 03-29-2015, 11:04 AM
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by NBP04TL4ME
If I were in your shoes, I would look at replacing the alternator. I haven't heard or seen this issue, but would say you are on the right track.
yeah thanks, I just don't want it to be a big electrical problem
Old 03-29-2015, 12:09 PM
Registered Bunny

Received 1,073 Likes on 892 Posts
I'd change the alternator too. On one of my cars once I had grime around the battery post and needed to change it. Unscrew the terminal from the post, pull on it and I don't notice but some of the rust crap flies right into the alternator. Place the new battery back in, start the car....

UH OH FLAMING ALTERNATOR