Swapped a new motor in...now engine won't crank.

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2017, 02:13 PM
Cruisin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Swapped a new motor in...now engine won't crank.

So I'm a newbie here, but I've searched and searched and cant seem to find a lot of info on what I'm looking for. Anyway, for a brief history, I bought my 04 TL 2 1/2 years ago with 130k miles on it. It drove perfectly smooth for the first year and a half and ever since April (oddly enough after I installed an aftermarket bluetooth cd player) I've notice little things acting funny with it. My vsa started coming on and staying on and running the battery down. Finally around september or october, it started running bad and eventually it started blowing blue smoke out of the exhaust and I was losing oil fast. So, knowing my engine was most likely done and repairing it would take about as much time and maybe more money than buying a new one, I decided to just buy a used engine with 73k miles on it and after watching ErictheCarGuy, do it myself. After 3 or 4 weekends of playing with it, I finally got everything swapped and the new engine is in my car now, except it won't start. Between the engine swap I replaced the passenger motor mount, the trans motor mount, the rear main seal, the timing belt, the water pump, timing belt tensioner, the serpentine belt, the oil filter housing gasket, and maybe something else I'm forgetting. So anyway, the engine turns over but won't crank. I have seen spark on all 6 plugs and they have fuel on the plugs so I figured I could assume the fuel pump and ignition is working. I thought maybe the timing is off, but I did the timing by what several people have said with the front cam on the 1 position, the back cam on the engraved mark on the gear, and the crankshaft at 12. I turned the crank twice to confirm it lined up and the marks were dead on. I rechecked after installing the engine and cranking several times, and the two cam marks still line up perfect, althou