Performance upgrade opinions requested

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 01:32 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Performance upgrade opinions requested

OK, I'm not a newbie to the auto upgrade scene, nor am I a newbie to forums, so I have at least an idea of what I am trying to accomplish with my upgrades and how to search for info here.

The thing is I haven't seen a lot of opinion comparing various brands of upgrades, so am not certain which direction to go. For example, I am familiar with Comptech and am aware that they produce quality components...I am also aware that they are pricey.

Anyway, I am contemplating doing some suspension upgrades to my 2006 6MT, as well as eventually looking at performance upgrades. Since someone will state the obvious response "It depends what you want the car to do..." let me qualify that up front. I enjoy driving, and driving fast. I like a car that is tight but still compliant for street use (I do live in NJ, land of the pothole). It is important that the car be well balanced and corner as flat as possible while still maintaining a modicum of ride quality (I might have to take my mom somewhere, you never know!). I do not have much opportunity to 'track' my cars, so outright grip is not as important as a nice, balanced compromise for ride and handling.

OK, that said, let me outline my grievances with the stock chassis: not enough roll control, godawful tires (easy to remedy, but what is the maximum treadwidth and wheel width I can do?), WAY too much dive and squat (cop followed me 50 miles because of brake-dive once...I didn't slow down THAT much, but the dive made it look like I'd been going 150), no LSD, overall lack of stiffness in the bodyshell.