Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

Mortgage prequalification.. ugh. Help plz

Old 07-13-2016, 09:20 AM
Q('.')=O

Received 720 Likes on 520 Posts
Mortgage prequalification.. ugh. Help plz

Intro: I'm a noob to the whole home buying process. I've always rented an apt until a few years ago when I moved in with my then girlfriend now wife. She owns the town home we live in now.

Over the past few months we have been looking to move into a single family home and are really excited about it. We even got pre-qualified through Quicken Loans for way more than we are going to spend anyways. However, my wife works for a major bank and wants to use them for our mortgage because she gets discounted/no fees on some things and a slightly lower interest rate... I think she wants the conventional mortgage either 15 or 30 yr fixed (not sure on specifics.. this is her domain of knowledge).

After more and more looking and possibly thinking of putting in an offer, we contacted her bank to get pre-qualified. Now, they are saying they need 3 open credit lines from each of us (I think with 12 months history at least?). Her, no problem. Me, problem. I have my own personal credit card at another bank and a joint credit card with her at our bank. But that is it. I paid off my car several years ago so that is closed. I paid off my student loans just 9 months ago after 9 years of perfect repayment but they can't use that because it is no longer open?! 9 fucking years of perfect repayment history with no problems and it can't be used? Can they use my car insurance payment history? Netflix account? This 3rd credit line is fucking pissing me off.

The only other option is putting 10% down and they need to see that as available. We have a lot in savings but not quite 10%. Either we'd have to save up for another half year or year OR I could take out money from my 401k since I'm a first time home buyer but I really don't want to do that.