96 2.5 TL won't roll in any gear. I'm an Acura noob

Old 10-11-2014, 07:23 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 2.5 TL won't roll in any gear. I'm an Acura noob

Ahoy all! I'm picking up a 1996 2.5 TL with some issues to get ready for my daughter as she is about to begin her driving career. "Issues?" you say? Here goes...

Overall it seems to be in decent shape. Starts and seems to run smooth and the interior is in decent shape. Good rubber on it and it's dirt cheap - so cheap I can crush it for more than I'm giving for it if it ends up being more to fix than it's worth.

The down side is that it won't move. Can't even be pushed. Will not roll in any gear. Put it in hear and the motor drops down like it will when you put one in gear, but goes nowhere and will not roll freely even in neutral.

I've looked through the forums some and haven't seen anyone else with that happening, so I'm looking for ideas. I have a good garage and a decent set of tools, and I do enough wrenching to keep my own vehicles rolling, so I'm looking forward to this project, just hoping for a "peek over the hill" if you know what I mean.

Thanks in advance!
Old 10-11-2014, 07:33 PM
Stay Out Of the Left Lane

Received 1,236 Likes on 1,023 Posts
When was the last time it did move? Perhaps a or multiple frozen brakes? Have you had it up on a lift to see if the wheels spin? Just a thought as a diagnostic start.
Old 10-11-2014, 09:47 PM
Cruisin'

Not sure when it ran last. The guy says it locked up while he was driving and had to be towed. Wrecked driver had to drag it on the flatbed with the winch. The front wheels wouldn't move. The rest of the car looks good so I don't mind putting some work and money into it. Just not sure where to start.

Pick it up tomorrow and will get a better perspective.
Old 10-12-2014, 07:55 PM
Cruisin'