2008 acura RL OEM subwoofer issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2015, 08:20 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 acura RL OEM subwoofer issues

Hello all, i think this is my first time post. my kb1 RL is my stock daily driver, i've had since new and never had any issues. that is until now. I think my subwoofer is dead. i noticed not too long ago that the bass lows were raspy. i was guessing my speakers must have failed so i figured i will have to replace it. but then i realized there was no bass coming from the subwoofer at all. i've tried to isolate any problems speakers and thus far i think the only ones i'm having issues with is the rear pass side (speaker buzz) and the sub woofer. is it common for the subwoofer to go out? and i think its an 8" sub. can i replace with some other better quality aftermarket sub? i am open to any suggestions. i was impressed with the sound system when it was stock but i m sure it can use some system upgrades. and also i think i m getting some sort of feedback from the ANC, because sometimes i can hear a drone coming from the speakers. weird stuff. any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-27-2015, 10:06 PM
Racer

Received 109 Likes on 73 Posts
It's an 8" sub. You can look from in your trunk and see the speaker and hear/feel if it's moving. I'd replace with OEM. It's a free air type woofer and there aren't really any that sound good. You really need a box and better amp to get good bass.
Old 09-28-2015, 05:33 PM
8th Gear

Originally Posted by NathanJax
It's an 8" sub. You can look from in your trunk and see the speaker and hear/feel if it's moving. I'd replace with OEM. It's a free air type woofer and there aren't really any that sound good. You really need a box and better amp to get good bass.
thanks for the feedback. i did the 1/6 diagnostic and says amp is ok. so i guess i will check the wiring for the sub.

will an aftermarket sub of the same size work? or will it react with the ANC?