Anyone installed a 4 channel amp?

Old 01-21-2017, 11:22 PM
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Anyone installed a 4 channel amp?

Hi everyone- I recently purchased a 2015 TLX base model. no ELS audio. I'm looking to bypass the factory amp and add a 4 channel amplifier and subwoofer amplifier . I'm an installer so I already have all my wiring schematics and colors, as well as factory amp location. My method of doing the 4 channel involves tagging all the speaker wires where they come together in one location rather than running wire to each speaker individually. I'm going to cut the speaker wire at the factory amp and use one side as the input to my line out converter, and the other as the output from the new amp , and just extend the wires back to the amp in the trunk. my only uncertainty is this: do I need to grab the signal for the line out converter on the input or output side of the factory amp. Logic says input side but I have done a couple other cars such as older Lexus models where the volume is controlled by factory amp, therefore the signal must pass through it or you lose volume control . Has anyone done this? thanks
Old 04-14-2017, 02:56 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
did you ever get this done?
Old 05-23-2017, 12:51 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by 310cem
did you ever get this done?
Yes. You have to grab the signal on the output side. If you disconnect the input side the whole radio goes dummy and loses all functionality. Im actually doing a full custom trunk. Ill post a thread of the build when im done.
Old 05-26-2017, 02:00 PM
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by marxw13
Yes. You have to grab the signal on the output side. If you disconnect the input side the whole radio goes dummy and loses all functionality. Im actually doing a full custom trunk. Ill post a thread of the build when im done.