Tires & Winter Traction

Old 02-20-2017, 02:04 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tires & Winter Traction

I've got a 2008 TL and I love everything about it except for how it drives in the winter (which is important, 'cause I'm in Boston). I slip and slide all over the road when there's even a fraction of an inch of show or slush on the road.

I've never swapped summer/winter tires on any of the previous cars I've owned, but after doing a bit of research, it looks like that may be inevitable. Please bear with this total noob question, but do I need to purchase a second set of rims in order to do summer/winter tires? And if I do, how much might that run me and what's the best source for them?

Also, any tire recommendations? I was looking at the Continental WinterContact SI.

Thanks!
Old 02-20-2017, 02:23 PM
Safety Car

Received 1,163 Likes on 874 Posts
I use a second set of wheels for my winter tyres (also on my wife's car) for convenience.

You can choose to swap tyres back and forth, seasonally on one set of wheels, but you'll incur long waits at tyre shops because of seasonal crowds. And you risk the wheels/tyres being damaged every time they are exchanged.

I found a used set of TL base wheels for $300 and decided to go with those as my winter set.

I use summer tyres in summer...and they absolutely will NOT work in snow or ice.

All season tyres are an alternative that people go with....but that is a compromise on both ends of the traction spectrum. Are Boston winters that bad? Or can you get by with a good all-season set?

I love my Continental Extreme Winters....which have been replaced by the wintercontact SI. I would assume they are good as well.

Michelin X-Ice is probably my all around favourite winter tyre.

General Altimax is excellent if you're down to deal with quite a bit of noise.

I am not a huge fan of Blizzak WS80's that everyone was going mad about a year or two ago.
The following users liked this post:
08TLNewbie (02-20-2017)