E_Master's Anthracite Metallic TL Progress Thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2016, 09:19 PM
Intermediate

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
E_Master's Anthracite Metallic TL Progress Thread

Greetings everybody. I was going to wait a while longer to start my own thread when I had actually made a good amount of modifications to the car, but I figured I may as well just start it now.

My first car back in 2014 was a 2004 Hyundai Elantra. I had purchased it for $500 from my mother's work because they were getting rid of old work vehicles. It had 112k miles on it and absolutely zero problems. Being my first car, I wasn't concerned about its looks. It was a great deal and got me from point A to point B without a problem. Due to me being an inexperienced driver, I had done some things that put a lot of stress on the car. For example, I put the car into drive before completely stopping in reverse. I of course somewhat slowed down before switching gears but I know better than that now. I also constantly stomped on the petal to get into passing gear so I could go faster. Starting to drive without warming the car up sometimes in the winter because I was in a rush also probably wasn't a good idea. I also drove 40k+ miles in 2 years because of commuting to college and because I delivered food for a pizza place After a year and a half of abusing the car, I started running into problems. The first problem was the catalytic converter going bad. It costed me over $1000 to replace, which took a huge dent out of my bank account. Then the transmission started to go. After warming the car up I would put the car into drive and after letting off of the brakes the car would jolt as it was going forward. The car also banged into gear when going from reverse to drive. It was August 2016 and the car was due for inspection by the end of the month. The catalytic converter was going bad again for some odd reason and I was not putting another cent into the car. Knowing I was not going to pass insp