Alex's TL Type-S ASM 5AT Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2016, 11:17 AM
Instructor

Received 47 Likes on 38 Posts
Alex's TL Type-S ASM 5AT Thread

Well, it's been a long time...

In 2009 I bought a 2004 Acura TL 5AT. I drove it for almost a year before accidentally running a red light. I was T-Boned on the driver's side, but walked away without a scratch. The car, however, was a total loss. In 2009 early model TL’s were still selling for nearly 20k (CAD), and in buying one at age 17 I had severely stretched my budget. So severely that I was unable to afford 2-way insurance. Running that red light cost me my car, and worse, I was still over 15,000 in debt for it.

Jump forward to June of 2015. I’ve been working in a career job for 3 years, and am finally stable enough to look at getting a car again. There was no other choice: It had to be a TL. So here it is! I’m very happy to introduce my 2008 TL Type-S 5AT.

That’s how it looked in June. I haven’t been all that diligent in taking photos at each stage of its evolution, but here are the highlights. At the bottom of the post I’ll list the mods to-date. And talk about future plans.

The first mod was installing the AckTL05 Color-matched tail lights I had made for my ’04 SSM. Behind the plastic of the tail light, SSM and ASM are nearly identical, so they matched up with the new car without issue.

Next up was a suspension upgrade that saw the stock suspension replaced with a shiny new set of Tein Street Advance Coils. Originally I dropped about 3’’, but after scraping on absolutely everything, I moved it back up to about a 1.5’’ drop, and like it where it is.

Next up I worked with JnC to get some custom headlights done. I wanted these to be color-matched as well, and we went all-out with the internal upgrades: ZKW-r swap, projector DRLs, cleared turn signals with chrome bulbs, and silver side reflectors.