2013 Nexus 7 DIY Install in Type S with Reverse Camera

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2017, 01:33 PM
Safety Car

Received 1,158 Likes on 909 Posts
2013 Nexus 7 DIY Install in Type S with Reverse Camera

This is my DIY for a 2013 Nexus 7 tablet install into my navigation based TL (Type S) and having full functionality of an aftermarket reverse camera. I’m trying to be as detailed as possible so people can do their own install, but please ask any questions you have (but read the entire DIY first and try to work through it…that’s how you learn it!)

My navigation broke about 2 years ago and I didn’t want to pay $400 for 10 year old graphics and maps that needed to be updated every year, so finally I decided I wanted to take on this nexus 7 project. I spent LOTS of time researching and putting this project together. 3 months ago I knew NOTHING about Android and what rooting even was. I researched a ton and asked a ton of questions and eventually got to where I am. I am an engineer but not an electrical one, so don’t feel overwhelmed by the project…it’s all doable.

I refused to take on this project until I learned that I could still have a back up camera. I love having a back up camera and would not have done this install if I would lose my camera (oem type s has one). This camera install is slightly different than the others (zsameer, 2012 nexus 7) because I use a relay to load the reverse signal very quick, which in my mind is the way it should be done for the best functionality.

I have the wifi version of the tablet so I tether the tablet to my iphone. I use Bluetooth Auto Connect to automatically connect to my iphone and use bluetooth to pull data.

Final install:

Thank You: I’d like to thank the following members whom I either bothered via PM or took hints from their threads