P0171 & awd77

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2015, 09:22 AM
Intermediate

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
P0171 & awd77

Hello Everyone,

I'm the noob here. I couldn't quite find an intro thread so if there is one, please direct me to it.

I have an '07 Tech. It recently threw error codes P0171 Emissions System and 77 AWD system. I cleared them and they didn't come back until today, about two months later.

My questions are, can anyone clarify these codes for me? From what I've read, it could possibly be the front o2 sensor? But then it could also be myriad other things.
And the 77 code I'm completely miffed about.
The car has been acting funny since it first threw the codes, during acceleration, it seems to hesitate or stumble, as if the ECU was cutting spark for a split second. Leads me to believe it's the o2. But I've seen advice like cleaning the MAF sensor and such..any guidance or clarification would be appreciated.

Sorry if this has been covered, I'm sitting at the office and don't have lots of time to search and comb through old threads. Please bear with me
Old 09-15-2015, 10:19 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 229 Likes on 204 Posts
The AWD77 code seems to accompany several different emissions codes, but I cannot find a reason why as emissions has nothing to do with the AWD components. Perhaps it's a safety measure, as depending on the emissions code your vehicle's driveability can be affected. I would focus on the P0171 first, and once resolved see if that also eliminates the AWD code. If not, diagnose from there.

Here are the basics on P0171. I'd start from easiest/cheapest and go from there...intake leak should be easier to detect and cleaning the MAF only takes a few minutes. After that it does become a little harder to pin down stuff, but I have seen one or two posts about a clogged cat before.

P0171 - System Too Lean

Symptoms:
Typical symptoms of the lean air fuel mixture include:
- Lack of power
- Rough idle
- Hissing noise from the engine (vacuum leaks)